Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > Sports > News > PTI > Report

Anjali, Beenamol get Khel Ratna

August 22, 2003 20:23 IST

Athlete K M Beenamol and shooter Anjali Bhagwat wereselected for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award, the country's highest sporting honour, on Friday.

Twenty-one sportspersons, including cricketer Virender Sehwag, footballer I M Vijayan and hockey player Gagan Ajit Singh, have been named for the Arjuna awards 2002.

Five sportspersons have been selected for the Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement award and Dronacharya award.

The awards willbe given away by the President of India at a function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29.

The awardees:

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna: Anjali Bhagwat (shooting), K M Beenamol (athletics).

Arjuna Awards:Anju B George (athletics), Alok Kumar (billiards and snooker), Mohammad Ali Qamar (boxing), Krishnan Sasikiran (chess), I M Vijayan (football), Shiv Kapur (golf), Gagan Ajit Singh (men's hockey), Ram Mehar Singh (kabaddi), Anwar Sultan (shooting), Suma Shirur (shooting), Montu Ghosh (table tennis), Ravikant Reddy (volleyball), T Muthu (weightlifting), Palwinder Singh Cheema (wrestling), Nitin Mongia (yachting), Mamta Kharab (hockey-woman), Virender Sehwag (cricket), Saraswati Saha (athletics), Inderpal Singh (rowing), Sujit Mann (wrestling), Ramesh Tikaram (badminton and athletics -- handicap category).

Dhyanchand Awards: Ram Kumar (basketball), Dharma Singh Mann (hockey), Charles Cornelius(hockey), Om Prakash (volleyball), Smita Yadav (rowing).

Dronacharya Awards: Renu Kohli (athletics), Jaswant Singh (athletics), M K Kaushik (hockey), E Prasad Rao (kabaddi), H D Motivala (yachting).

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 2


Finally good sence prevailed upon the hawks. Arjuna award committee should be commanded for the success. P.T.Usha also to be thaked for the consistancy in ...

Posted by Betaraya

Sub: Congratutaltion

Congrats to Beenamol and Anjali..You deserve it..

Posted by Anil



Copyright 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.