NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Mumbai score outright victory

Mumbai score outright victory

November 17, 2007 21:32 IST

Test discard Ramesh Powar's ten-wicket match haul helped reigning champions Mumbai score an outright win over Tamil Nadu with a day to spare in their Elite Group 'A' Ranji Trophy league match in Chennai on Saturday.

With five points from this win, Mumbai have eight points to Tamil Nadu's lone point, earned against Maharashtra in their earlier match.

Mumbai had replied with 317 all out in reply to Tamil Nadu's first innings total of 206.

Today, the hosts were bundled out for 214 in their second essay.

Needing 104 for an outright win, Mumbai coasted home, achieving the target in 19 overs and losing openers Wasim Jaffer (17-4 fours) and Ajinkya Rahane (28-4 fours) in the process.

Prasant Naik's unbeaten effort of 57 in just 42 balls (5x6- 2x4) ensured Mumbai's win earlier than expected.

Though the pitch did not help bowlers, the Tamil Nadu batsmen paid the penalty for indiscreet shot selection.

Powar, who bowled intelligently grabbed 5 for 68 for a match haul of 10 for 112.

Resuming at their overnight second innings total of 30 for M Vijay's wicket, Ajit Agarkar dismissed Dinesh Karthik with the second delivery. Powar them claimed a brace (Yeo Mahesh 14 and Prasanna 0) to leave the hosts reeling at four for 75.

Medium pacer Avishkar Salvi proved a good foil for Powar as he generated good pace and length to clean bowl three good batsmen in captain Badrinath (32-2 fours and a six), R Srinivasan (11) and Srivasudeva Das (47 (5 fours and a six).

At this stage, Tamil Nadu were 7 for 189 and a win for Mumbai was very much on the cards.

Powar completed the formality, claiming two more wickets (Naresh-0 and Ramkumar 16).

In between, R Ashwin, who made 51 was run out by Salvi from backward point. Ashwin and Das's 91-run stand for the seventh wicket was the only good patch in Tamil Nadu's innings.

Mumbai plays Delhi at home in their third league match from November 23 to 26, while Tamil Nadu, who will be playing all their remaining matches in Chennai, take on Karnataka in the next match from November 23 to 26.


Tamil Nadu (first innings) 206
Mumbai: (first innings) 317
Tamil Nadu( second innings)
Dinesh Karthik b Agarkar 28
M Vijay c Samant b Powar 2
V Yo Mahesh b Powar 14
S Badrinath b Salvi 32
R Prasanna lbw b Powar 0
R Srinivasan b Salvi 11
K Vasudevadas b Salvi 47
R Ashwin (run out) 51
R Ramkumar c Abdulla b Powar 16
R Naresh c Jaffer b Powar 0
P Amarnath (not out) 0
Extras: (B-11, NB 2) 13
Total 214 in 76.3 overs
Fall of wickets : 1-16, 2-30, 3-75, 4-75, 5-93, 6-98, 7-189, 8-206, 9-211, 10-214.

Bowling: Ajit Agarkar 15-4-38-1, Avishkar Salvi 16-6-27-3, Ramesh Powar 21.3-4-68-5, A M Nayar 14-7-34-0, I Abdulla 10-3-36-0

Mumbai (second innings)
Wasim Jaffer c Prasanna b Ramkumar 17
Ajinkay Rahane b Ramkumar 28
Prashant Naik(not out) 57
Amol Muzumdar (not out) 2
Total (for 2 wkts in 19 overs) 104
Fall of wickets: 1-28, 2-79.

Bowling: V Yo Mahesh 3-0-21-0, P Amarnath 4-1-18-0, R Naresh 2-1-2-0, R Ramkumar 7-2-32-2 R Ashwin 3-0-31-0.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.