» Cricket » Mithali Raj to lead India in WC

Mithali Raj to lead India in WC

Source: PTI
February 20, 2005 20:16 IST

Mithali Raj was named the captain of the Indian women's cricket team for next month's World Cup as Women's Cricket Association of India announced a 14-member squad for the mega event to be held in South Africa.

Mithali took over the reins of captaincy from Karnataka's Mamta Maben, WCAI secretary Shubangi Kulkarni said in a release adding the team would be coached by former captain and all rounder Sudha Shah of Tamil Nadu.

Shah was the coach of the team in the last four World Cups held in New Zealand, West Indies, Sri Lanka and Australia.

Kulkarni said the team was selected on the basis of performance of the players in the 25th National championship heldĀ in ChennaiĀ from February 10 to 17.

The squad would attend a preparatory camp before leaving for South Africa, she added.

Squad: Mithali Raj (captain), Jaya Sharma, Hemalata Kala, Neetu David, Nooshin Al Khadeer, Amita Sharma, Deepa Marathe, Rumali Dhar, Arundhati Kirkire, Anju Jain, Jhulan Goswami, Anjum Chopra, Karuna Jain, Reema Malhotra.

Stand byes: Asha Rawat, Devika Palshikar, Vandana Gupta, Monica Sumra.

Coach: Sudha Shah.

Manager: Trupti Bhattacharya

Physio: Shiv Shankar

Trainer: K R Siva Kumar.

Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.