NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Shashikala shines in Sri Lanka win

Shashikala shines in Sri Lanka win

December 14, 2006 22:44 IST

Skipper Shashikala Sriwardane led from the front to enable Sri Lanka score a thumping seven-wicket victory over Pakistan in the women's Asia Cup cricket tournament at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur on Thursday.

Shasikala, after inviting Pakistan to bat first, claimed four wickets to restrict them to 147 for 9.

For Pakistan, opener Taskeena Qadeer (37) and Sana Mir (23) were the only batters who defied the Sri Lankan attack.

Shasikala (44) then shone with the bat, and along with C Polgampala (53) took the team to victory in 43.2 overs with seven wickets in hand.

In reply, Sri Lanka started well, with Polgampala and D. de Silva (19) putting on 43 runs for the opening stand.

After de Silva's departure, Polgampala and Shashikala played with ease and put on a 94-run stand.

Polgampala, who hit three boundaries, reached her half century in 113 balls.

Sri Lanka were cruising to victory when they lost Shashikala. Her 84-ball innings was studded with five boundaries. Soon after, Polgampala followed suit, but nor before taking her team closer to the victory target.

Sri Lanka, who earned four points from the victory, take on India on Friday. Pakistan, who crashed to their second successive defeat, are yet to open their account.


Taskeen Qadeer b Shashikala 37
Bismah Mahroof c Hiroshi b Weekrakkooy 16
Urooz Mumtaz st. Dilani b Shashikala 19
Sajida Shah c Hiroshi b Alvis 8
Sana Javed b Shashikala 7
Sana Mir not out 23
Batool Fatima b Shashikala 5
Q Jalil c Shashikal b Polgampala 10
Asmavia Iqbal b Lokusrya 1
Khursheed Zabeen c and b Polgampala 5
Sabahat Rasheed not out 1
Extras: (lb-7, wd-8) 15
Total: (50 overs for 9 wkts.) 147

Fall of wickets: 1-34, 2-84, 3-91, 4-101, 5-101, 6-111, 7-132 8-133, 9-146.

Bowling: E Loksurya 7-1-25-1, S Weerakooye 10-1-16-1, C Polgampala 10-3-17-2, S Fernando 3-0-16-0, S Sriwardane 10-0-34-4, S Alwis 10-2-32-1.

Sri Lanka
D desilva c Batool b S Shah 19
C Polgampala lbw S Rasheed 53
Shashikal Sriwardane lbw Zabeen 44
S D Alwis not out 6
H Abesinghe not out 0
Extras: (b-1, lb-11, wd-17) 29
Total: (43.2 overs, for 3 wkts) 151

Fall of wickets: 1-43, 2-137, 3-147

Bowling: Asmavia Iqbal 5-1-13-0, Qanita Jalil 5-0-11-0, Sajida Shah 10-3-21-1, Khursheed Jabeen 10-0-39-1, Sabahat Rasheed 4-0-17-1, Urooj Mumtaj Khan 4.2-0-18-0, Sana Mir 5-0-20-0.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.