NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Anjali, Beenamol get Khel Ratna

Anjali, Beenamol get Khel Ratna

August 22, 2003 20:23 IST

Athlete K M Beenamol and shooter Anjali Bhagwat were selected for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award, the country's highest sporting honour, on Friday.

Twenty-one sportspersons, including cricketer Virender Sehwag, footballer I M Vijayan and hockey player Gagan Ajit Singh, have been named for the Arjuna awards 2002.

Five sportspersons have been selected for the Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement award and Dronacharya award.

The awards will be given away by the President of India at a function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29.

The awardees:

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna: Anjali Bhagwat (shooting), K M Beenamol (athletics).

Arjuna Awards: Anju B George (athletics), Alok Kumar (billiards and snooker), Mohammad Ali Qamar (boxing), Krishnan Sasikiran (chess), I M Vijayan (football), Shiv Kapur (golf), Gagan Ajit Singh (men's hockey), Ram Mehar Singh (kabaddi), Anwar Sultan (shooting), Suma Shirur (shooting), Montu Ghosh (table tennis), Ravikant Reddy (volleyball), T Muthu (weightlifting), Palwinder Singh Cheema (wrestling), Nitin Mongia (yachting), Mamta Kharab (hockey-woman), Virender Sehwag (cricket), Saraswati Saha (athletics), Inderpal Singh (rowing), Sujit Mann (wrestling), Ramesh Tikaram (badminton and athletics -- handicap category).

Dhyanchand Awards: Ram Kumar (basketball), Dharma Singh Mann (hockey), Charles Cornelius (hockey), Om Prakash (volleyball), Smita Yadav (rowing).

Dronacharya Awards: Renu Kohli (athletics), Jaswant Singh (athletics), M K Kaushik (hockey), E Prasad Rao (kabaddi), H D Motivala (yachting).

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.