» News » 'Stupendous victory': Leaders congratulate Mamata on strong show

'Stupendous victory': Leaders congratulate Mamata on strong show

Source: PTI   -  Edited By: Roshneesh Kmaneck
Last updated on: May 02, 2021 15:45 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

As trends show a resounding victory for Mamata Banerjee and her party the Trinamool Congress in the state of West Bengal, opposition leaders have begun congratulating ‘Didi’ for her strong show in the polls.

Nationalist Congress Party president Sharad Pawar on Sunday congratulated Mamata Banerjee, whose party the Trinamool Congress was striding way ahead of the Bharatiya Janata Party in the counting of votes for the West Bengal assembly polls.


"Congratulations @MamataOfficial on your stupendous victory! Let us continue our work towards the welfare of people and tackling the pandemic collectively," tweeted Pawar, whose party shares power with the Shiv Sena and Congress in Maharashtra.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on Sunday congratulated Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee.

"Congratulations @MamataOfficial didi for landslide victory. What a fight! Congratulations to the people of WB," Kejriwal tweeted.

Samajwadi Party leader Akhilesh Yadav too congratulated Mamata Banerjee and her party and said "politics of hate stands defeated" in the state.

Taking to Twitter, he said the "conscious public" have given a befitting reply to BJP's 'Didi o Didi' barbs.

"Hearty congratulations to the conscious public, combative Mamata Banerjee ji and the dedicated leaders and activists of the TMC, who defeated the BJPs's politics of hate in Bengal! This is a befitting reply to the insulting sarcasm 'Didi O Didi' from the BJP," the former Uttar Pradesh chief minister tweeted with hashtag '#Didi_jio_didi'

National Conference vice president Omar Abdullah congratulated Mamata, saying the BJP and a “thoroughly partisan” Election Commission threw everything at her, but she prevailed.

“Heartiest congratulations to @MamataOfficial didi & everyone at @AITCofficial for the remarkable victory in West Bengal. The BJP & a throughly partisan Election Commission threw everything including the kitchen sink at you & you prevailed. All the best for the next 5 years (sic),” Omar wrote on Twitter.

PDP president Mehbooba Mufti too congratulated the TMC, saying people have rejected "disruptive and divisive forces".

In a tweet, the former Jammu and Kashmir chief minister said, "Congratulations to @MamataOfficial @AITCofficial @derekobrienmp on their splendid victory today. Kudos to the people of West Bengal for rejecting disruptive & divisive forces". 

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Roshneesh Kmaneck© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus