NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Neiphiu Rio takes oath as Nagaland CM

Neiphiu Rio takes oath as Nagaland CM

Last updated on: March 08, 2018 18:26 IST

Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party leader Neiphiu Rio was on Thursday sworn in as Nagaland Chief Minister by Governor P B Acharya at a public function in Kohima.

IMAGE: Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party leader Neiphiu Rio took the oath of office on Thursday at the Kohima Local Ground. Photograph: ANI/Twitter

This is Rio's fourth term as the chief minister of the northeastern state.

Rio is heading the People's Democratic Alliance government in partnership with the Bharatiya Janata Party in the state.

div id="div_morelike_topic_container">

"We will bring change, we will work for all sections and we will leave no one behind. Thank you for your blessings and your support," he said in his address to the crowd after taking oath.

BJP's Y Patton took oath as deputy chief minister.

Ten other ministers were also administered oath by Acharya.

IMAGE: This is Rio's fourth time as CM. Ten other ministers -- including 5 from BJP, 3 from NDPP, 1 Independent and 1 JD-U MLA was sworn in. Photograph: ANI/Twitter

Of them, six are old-timers - Janata Dal-United's K Kaito Aye, Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party's C M Chang and Neiba Kronu and BJP's S Pangnyu Phom, P Paiwang Konyak and N Jacob Zhimomi.

The first-timers, who were sworn in to the council of ministers, include Metsubo Jamir of the NDPP, Tongpang Ozukum, an independent MLA, Temjen Imna Along and V Kashiho Sangtam of the BJP.

Tongpang and Along, both 37, are the youngest among the newly-appointed ministers.

Rio had staked claim to form the government on March 4 with the support of 32 legislators in the 60-member House ---18 MLAs of the NDPP, 12 of the BJP, one of the JD-U and an independent MLA.

The governor has asked the newly-elected chief minister to prove his majority on the floor of the House by March 16.

IMAGE: Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Union minister Kiren Rijiju, BJP president Amit Shah attended the swearing-in ceremony. Photograph: ANI/Twitter

A galaxy of central leaders and the chief ministers of northeastern states descended on the Kohima Local Ground here to attend the swearing-in ceremony.

Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Union minister Kiren Rijiju, BJP president Amit Shah and the party's general secretary Ram Madhav were among those present at the function.

Outgoing Chief Minister T R Zeliang also attended the event.

This is the first time common people were invited to the ceremony through newspaper advertisements, issued by the state department of information and public relations.

More than 25,000 people, including workers of political parties, witnessed the oath-taking ceremony, official sources said.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.