NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Goa elections: The winners

Goa elections: The winners

Last updated on: June 05, 2007 11:55 IST

Following are the successful candidates who were declared elected from their respective constituencies after Tuesday's counting of votes for elections to the 40-member Goa assembly.

  • Goa Chief Minister Pratapsingh Rane wins from Poriem assembly seat.
  • Rebel Congressman Churchill Alemao, who formed the Save Goa Front, wins the Navelim seat by over 5,000 votes, defeating veteran Congressman and Industries Minister Luisinho Faleiro.
  • BJP candidate Dilip Parulekar defeats Goa Deputy Chief Minister and state NCP chief Wilfred D'Souza in Saligao.

  • Sitting Congress legislator Alexio Sequiera wins Loutolim seat.
  • Former chief minister Churchill Alemao's Save Goa Front candidate Alexo Louraco wins Curtorim seat defeating Speaker Fransisco Sardinha.
  • Former Goa chief minister Manohar Parrikar has won the Panaji assembly seat by defeating Congress candidate Dinar Tarcar by 1,444 votes.
  • Bharatiya Janata Party nominee and sitting legislator Vijay Pai Khot wins the Canacona assembly seat by defeating Congress candidate Sanjay Bhandekar by 226 votes.
  • BJP leader Laxmikant Parsekar wins Mandrem seat by 1710 votes.
  • Filipe Nery Rodrigues (Congress) wins Velim seat by 2,732 seats.
  • Congress minister Digambar Kamat wins the Margao seat by defeating BJP candidate Sharmad Pai Raiturkar by 2,186 votes.
  • Nationalist Congress Party candidate Jose Philip defeats former BJP state president Rajendra Arlekar in Vasco Da Gama seat.
  • Congress candidate Shyam Satardekar wins from Curchorem.
  • Congress nominee Francisco Silveira bags St Andre seat.
  • Congress sitting legislator Agnelo Fernandes wins Calangute seat.
  • Congress sitting legislator Joaquim Alemao wins from Cuncolim.

    More results awaited

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.