NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » WB polls: Cong releases 2nd list of candidates

WB polls: Cong releases 2nd list of candidates

March 24, 2006 17:50 IST
The names of senior Congress leaders Tapan Ganguly, Chittaranjan Mukherjee, Krishna Keshav Das and six others were announced by the party today in its second list for the assembly elections in West Bengal.

While Ganguly has been nominated to contest from Bally, Mukherjee and Das would be contesting from Gopiballavpur and Contrai North, party General Secretary Margaret Alva said.

Mukherjee has been named from Gopiballavpur in place of Ramkrishna Sarkar, whose name was announced in the first list.

The party, going it alone on all 294 seats, earlier announced names of 83 candidates.

Abdul Rashid Mallik (Chapra), Shibdas Mukherjee (Krishna Nagar east), Binodanand Banerjee (Shibpur), Harisadhan Das Adhikari (Contrai South), Bhargabendra Jana (Pataspur) and Vibhuti Mahato (Arsa) are the other candidates announced on Friday. Congress would leave 25 seats for its smaller partners like JMM in the United Front being led by it.
© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.