Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > India > News > PTI

Karnataka: Lucky on screen, unlucky in elections

May 25, 2008 20:54 IST

Lucky on screen, but unlucky in elections. This was the norm of the day as five of the six celluloid stars - Ambareesh, Umashree, Saikumar, Shashikumar  and S Mahender -- were defeated in their respective constituencies in the Karnataka assembly polls.

The sole star who was laughing today was Jaggesh [Images], an actor known for his comedy.

In Srirangappattana, Ambareesh of Congress was defeated by rival A B Ramesh Bandesiddegouda of Janata Dal - Secular by 5,160 votes, while in Terdal in Bijapur, Congress candidate Umashree was trounced by Siddu Savadi of the Bharatiya Janata Party by 12,244 votes.

BJP's Saikumar was defeated by N Sampangi of the Congress in Bagepally assembly segment.

Unlike a regular screen script, where the hero tastes success, celluloid hero Shashikumar of Congress was beaten by Tippeswamy of BJP by 289 votes.
Director-cum-actor S Mahender of the BJP lost to R Dhruvanarayan of the Congress by 11,798 votes in Kollegal.

In Turuvekere, Congress candidate and popular comedian Jaggesh trounced Laxminarayan of the BJP by 9,526 votes, becoming the only star to make it to the winners' list.

© Copyright 2008 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.