You are here: Rediff Home » India » News » Report
Search: The Web
  Discuss this Article   |      Email this Article   |      Print this Article

The 32 MPs who disrupted Parliament
Onkar Singh in New Delhi
Get news updates:What's this?
May 02, 2008 19:46 IST

Members of Parliament belonging to the Bharatiya Janata Party lead the list of 32 lawmakers, who received privilege notices from the Lok Sabha Speaker's office for their disorderly conduct in the House.

What Parliament panel plans to do with unruly MPs

Opposition National Democratic Alliance members had stormed to the well of the House on the price rise issue on April 24 without paying heed to the Chair. Cracking the whip on as many as 32 lawmakers, Speaker Somnath Chatterjee had referred the case to the Privileges Committee.

Besides the BJP, the list also has names of lawmakers from the Biju Janata Dal, Shiromani Akali Dal and Janata Dal-United.

A bulletin, issued by Lok Sabha secretary general P B T Achary, said: "The Speaker, Lok Sabha, in exercise of his powers under rule 227 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Lok Sabha on 28 April, 2008, has referred the matter relating to disorderly conduct in the House by the following members on April 24, 2008, to the Committee of Privileges for examination, investigation and report:

  1. Kishan Singh Sangwan (BJP)
  2. Mahavir Bhagora (BJP)
  3. Kiran Maheshwari (BJP)
  4. Ashok Pradhan (BJP)
  5. Nand Kumar Sai (BJP)
  6. Shrichand Kriplani (BJP)
  7. Shahnawaz Hussain (BJP)
  8. Vijayendra Pal Singh (BJP)
  9. Ganesh Singh (BJP)
  10. Faggan Singh Kulaste (BJP)
  11. Bhanwar Singh Dangawas (BJP)
  12. Kalpana Ramesh Narhire (Shiv Sena)
  13. Virendra Kumar (BJP)
  14. Chandrakant Khaire (Shiv Sena)
  15. Sukhdeo Singh Libra (Akali Dal)
  16. Kharabela Swain (BJP)
  17. Tathagatha Satpathy (Biju Janata Dal)
  18. Ram Singh Kaswan (BJP)
  19. Subhash Maharia (BJP)
  20. Sushila Laxman Bangaru (BJP)
  21. Dr PP Koya (Janata Dal-United)
  22. Dharmendra [Images] Pradhan (BJP)
  23. PS Gadhavi (BJP)
  24. Dr Rattan Singh Ajnala (Akali Dal)
  25. Paramjit Kaur Gulshan (Akali Dal)
  26. Ramswaroop Koli (BJP)
  27. Sukdeo Paswan (BJP)
  28. Dr Ramkrishna Kusmaria (BJP)
  29. Karuna Shukla (BJP)
  30. Sharanjit Singh Dhillon (Akali Dal)
  31. Nandkumar Singh Chauhan (BJP)
  32. Brajesh Pathak (BSP)

The NDA will meet on May 5 to decide on the issue, BJP spokesman Prakash Javadekar said on Friday.

Congress spokesperson Abhishek Singvi, responding on the issue, said: "The Speaker has not made any judgment. It has been sent to the privileges committee to find out if any prima facie case is made out against the concerned MPs. The privileges committee would hold meetings, gather evidence and submit the report to the Speaker, who may or may not accept it in full or in part," Congress spokesperson Abhishek Singvi told media persons.

 Email this Article      Print this Article

© 2008 India Limited. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Feedback