Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333

Home > India > News > PTI

   Discuss   |      Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

Trust vote: Samajwadi Party expels 6 MPs

July 25, 2008 14:36 IST
Last Updated: July 25, 2008 15:07 IST

Related Articles
Trust Vote

The Samajwadi Party on Friday expelled six of its MPs from the party for defying the whip to vote in favour of the United Progressive Alliance government's confidence motion in the Lok Sabha.

"We have expelled the six MPs for defying the party directive. We will inform the speaker about our decision tomorrow," SP general secretary Amar Singh [Images] told reporters in Delhi.

The MPs who are expelled from the party are Jai Prakash (Mohanlalganj), S P Singh Baghel (Jalesar), Raj Narain Budholia (Hamirpur), Afzal Ansari (Ghazipur), Ateq Ahmed (Phulpur) and Munnawar Hussain (Muzaffarnagar).

Amar Singh also rubbished allegations that he paid money to MPs to defect and vote in favour of the government.

"We also lost MPs. We have not paid money to anybody," he said.

© Copyright 2008 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
   Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop