You are here: Rediff Home » India » News » PTI
Search: The Web
   Discuss   |      Email   |      Print | Get latest news on your desktop

Shibu Soren sworn in as Jharkhand CM
Related Articles
Soren to take oath as Jharkhand CM on Aug 27

Jharkhand: JMM to pull out from Koda govt

Get news updates:What's this?
August 27, 2008 16:05 IST
Last Updated: August 27, 2008 16:43 IST

JMM president Shibu Soren was on Wednesday sworn in as the sixth Chief Minister of Jharkhand after nearly three-and-half years of wait.

Governor Syed Sibtey Razi administered the oath of office to Soren and 11 of his cabinet colleagues at the historic Morabadi ground here.

The ministers who took oath were Stephen Marandi (Ind), Sudhir Mahto (JMM), Kamlesh Kumar Singh (NCP), Anosh Ekka (Ind), Hari Narayan Rai (Ind), Joba Majhi (Ind), Nalin Soren (JMM), Bandhu Tirkey (Ind), Aparna Sengupta (FB), Dulal Bhuiya (JMM), Bhanu Pratap Sahi (Ind).

Today's development ended the more than weeklong political drama that began with the withdrawal of support by the JMM to the Madhu Koda-led UPA government on August 17 that finally forced the chief minister to resign on August 23.

On August 25, Soren staked claim to form the government after submitting a list of 42-MLAs before governor Syed Sibtey Razi and made it a point to meet all the Independent MLAs individually who had been standing united with Koda.

Significantly, the independents shifted allegiance to Soren in exchange of their 12-point demand.

During his first stint as chief minister that lasted only for nine days, Soren had to step as he failed to obtain majority on March 11, 2005.

According to JMM sources, Soren would go for floor test on September 1.



© Copyright 2008 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
 Email  |    Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

© 2008 India Limited. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Feedback