Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > PTI

Office of profit: EC exonerates 12 Mizo MLAs

May 04, 2007 14:41 IST

Related Articles
Office of Profit: Coverage

The Election Commission has exonerated 12 legislators belonging to the ruling Mizo National Front on the issue of holding offices of profit.

A notification issued in Aizawl by Mizoram Governor M M Lakhera said the petition submitted by the opposition state Pradesh Congress Committee and the Mizoram People's Conference to the governor and Election Commission accusing the 12 MLAs of holding office of profit was dismissed.

The 12 legislators named in the petitions were Assembly Speaker Lalchamliana, Information Minister R Lalthangliana, Higher and Technical Education Minister Lalzama, Rural Development Minister Aichhinga, Sports Minister Z H Ropuia, State Planning Board Vice Chairman F Lalthan Zula, Advisor to Chief Minister R Khawpuithanga, Rashik Mohan Chakma and four other MLAs who were chairmen of state-run corporations.

Rashik Mohan Chakma had resigned last year from the Assembly by choosing to remain as chief executive member of the Chakma Autonomous District Council.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.