You are here: Rediff Home » India » News » PTI
Search: The Web
  Discuss this Article   |      Email this Article   |      Print this Article

Kolkata: Mamta suffers setback
Get news updates:What's this?
June 21, 2005 12:24 IST
Last Updated: June 21, 2005 17:59 IST

After five years, the Communist Party of India-Marxist-led Left Front on Tuesday wrested power in the 141-ward Kolkata Municipal Corporation from Trinamool Congress and retained Bidhannagar municipality, while Mamata Banerjee's party managed to hold on to the civic body at Uttarpara-Kotrung in Hooghly district.

Taken together, LF won 74 wards, three wards more than the required absolute majority in the prestigious city civic body with results of 140 wards declared.

The CPI-M alone bagged 59 seats, while other Front partners - Revolutionary Socialist Party secured six, Forward Bloc and CPI four each. LF-backed Rashtriya Janata Dal bagged one ward.

On the other hand, the Trinamool Congress-Bharatiya Janata Party combine, which controlled the KMC board since 2000, bagged 45 seats, with TC bagging 42 wards and BJP three.

Of the United Progressive Alliance constituents, Congress secured 15 wards. One Independent supported by Congress also won.

The result of Ward 63 has been withheld due to some problem in an EVM, officials said, adding that the West Bengal Election Commission would take a final decision.

Former Union Minister Ajit Panja of TC was leading by 160 votes in ward 63 when counting stopped due to a problem with an EVM.

© Copyright 2008 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
 Email this Article      Print this Article

© 2008 India Limited. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Feedback