You are here: Rediff Home » India » News » PTI
Search: The Web
  Discuss this Article   |      Email this Article   |      Print this Article

Gaur inducts 6 members in ministry
Get news updates:What's this?
June 01, 2005 14:15 IST
Last Updated: June 01, 2005 17:05 IST

Nine months after he took over as chief minister of Madhya Pradesh, Babulal Gaur on Wednesday dropped three ministers, including an Uma Bharti loyalist.

He also inducted six persons, three of whom are known to be Bharti's detractors.

While Himmat Singh Kothari and Kusum Mehdele were sworn in as cabinet ministers, Kamal Patel, Parasmal Jain, Ajay Vishnoi and Narottam Mishra were made ministers of state and administered oath of office and secrecy by Governor Balram Jakhar at the Raj Bhavan.

Kothari, Mehdele and Patel do not share good relations with Bharti.

The strength of the Gaur ministry is now 35, including 17 cabinet ministers.

Those shown the door were labour minister Harnam Singh Rathore, revenue minister Dilip Bhatere and minister of state for urban administration Shivnarayan Jagirdar.

Although Gaur had accepted the resignations of four ministers on Tuesday, women and child development minister Archana Chitnis was asked to continue in the ministry.

Party sources in Delhi said Chitnis was able to retain her place due to last minute intervention by the party leadership, including president L K Advani.

Bharti is understood to have called up Advani in Islamabad and sought his intervention, the sources said.

She also spoke to Arun Jaitley in this connection.


© Copyright 2008 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
 Email this Article      Print this Article

© 2008 India Limited. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Feedback