The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > PTI

Rajasthan: Cong denies tickets to 21 MLAs

November 10, 2003 20:32 IST

As many as 21 MLAs, including a minister in the Ashok Gehlot government, have been denied tickets by the Congress for the December 1 election to the 200-member Rajasthan Assembly.

The Congress released a list of 193 candidates in New Delhi on Monday.

Also see: Complete coverage of elections

"Tickets have been denied on the basis of their performance," All India Congress Committee general secretary Ambika Soni told reporters while releasing the list in the presence of Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and Rajasthan Pradesh Congress chief Girija Vyas.

Deputy chief ministers Banwari Lal Bairwa and Kamla have been given tickets from Niwai (SC) and Bairath respectively.

The party has fielded three former chief ministers -- Jagannath Pahadia from Weir (SC), Shivcharan Mathur from Mandalgarh and Heera Lal Devpura from Kumbhalgarh.

Pahadia has been given ticket in place of his wife, Shanti, an MLA.
Tarachand Bhagora, a member of the Lok Sabha, and Amaduddin Amed 'Durru Miyan', a Rajya Sabha member, have been given tickets to contest from Sagwara (ST) and Tizara respectively.

Soni said relatives only five leaders have been given tickets on the basis of their work, they include Brij Kishore Sharma, son of AICC general secretary Nawal Kishore Sharma, from Jaipur Rural; Mahipal Maderna, son of Assembly Speaker Parsram Maderna, from Bhopalgarh and Chandrashekhar Baid, son of former minister Cheland Baid, from Taranagar.

Replying to a question, Soni said the remaining seven seats would be finalised shortly. Congress has 152 members in existing assembly.


7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

More reports from Rajasthan
Read about: Assembly Election 2003

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Related Stories

Sonia launches Cong campaign

Kerala Congress may soon split

Antony may seek confidence vote

People Who Read This Also Read

TN leaders complain to PM

Rama Pilot to take on Raje

BJP loses gains in MP, Rajasthan

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.