The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > Report

18 Mumbai cops transferred

Vijay Singh in Mumbai | December 31, 2003 17:33 IST

Eighteen officials of the Mumbai police Crime Branch were transferred on Wednesday.

The top name in this list is Inspector Pradeep Sharma. In what is being considered a demotion, he has been transferred from the head office to Crime Branch's Unit 11 in Kandiwali.

Inspector Vinayk Sawde, who heads Unit 11 and played a key role in the arrest of those accused in this year's twin bomb blasts, has been transferred to the Andheri unit.

Deputy Commissioner of Police (Crime) Dhananjay Kamlakar said, "This is routine transfer, as it is part of the transfer drive we started recently."

The Crime Branch is under pressure following the arrest of former joint commissioner Shridhar Wagal in connection with the Telgi case.

It has tried to clean its image by transferring controversial officials and taking in new faces. First, Dhanajay Kamlakar was brought in place of deputy commissioner Pradeep Sawant, whose name had cropped up during investigations into the Telgi scandal.

It also transferred encounter specialist Sub-Inspector Daya Nayak, whose application relating to allegations made against him by Ketan Tirodkar that he had links with gangsters was rejected by the Bombay high court.

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

More reports from Maharashtra
Read about: Telgi case | Mumbai blasts

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Related Stories

SIT arrests R S Sharma

SIT arrests former ACP Mulani

R S Sharma remanded to custody

People Who Read This Also Read

SIT arrests former ACP Mulani

TDP MLA abducted Telgi men

Pensioner assaulted to death

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.