News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay  » Cricket » Who Won The Fielding Medal?

Who Won The Fielding Medal?

November 03, 2023 11:06 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Shreyas Iyer

Photograph and Video: Kind courtesy BCCI/X

Shreyas Iyer earned his second fielding medal, earning the distinction of being India's premier fielder in the ICC World Cup 2023 clash against Sri Lanka.

His exceptional fielding skills took centre stage as he executed a brilliant slip catch to dismiss Sadeera Samarawickrama, who fell prey to Mohammed Siraj's delivery.

Iyer's fielding acumen was once again on display as he took another catch, this time dismissing Lanka's final batter Dilshan Madushanka, courtesy of a delivery by Ravindra Jadeja.



Team India

The announcement of Iyer's achievement came from cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar, who also commended the Men in Blue for their outstanding cricket.

K L Rahul has also won the fielding medal twice while Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja and Shardul Thakur have each won it once.

The medal ceremony, an innovation introduced by the current team management, has now become a highly anticipated event for fans. The announcement of the winner is marked by imaginative and unique methods, further enhancing the excitement of the occasion.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

England's Tour Of India 2024

England's Tour Of India 2024