NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » India win toss, elect to bowl

India win toss, elect to bowl

October 02, 2007 09:38 IST

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bowl first in the second One-Day International against Australia in Kochi on Tuesday.

The start of play, at the Nehru stadium, was delayed by half an hour because of a damp outfield as a result of Monday's heavy rain.

The umpires, after inspecting the pitch at 0900 IST, ruled that play could commence at 0930 IST.

India made a couple of changes to the side that played in the washed-out first ODI in Bangalore, including Harbhajan Singh for R P Singh, while Robin Uthappa replaced Sourav Ganguly, who has been forced to sit out of the match because of the hamstring injury he sustained in the first ODI.

Australia retained the team that played in Bangalore.

India: Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, Yuvraj Singh, Rahul Dravid, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Ramesh Powar Zaheer Khan, Sreesanth.

Australia: Adam Gilchrist (capt), Matthew Hayden, Brad Hodge, Michael Clarke, Andrew Symonds, Brad Haddin, James Hopes, Brad Hogg, Brett Lee, Mitchell Johnson, Stuart Clark.

Harish Kotian in Kochi