» Cricket » Pakistan victory seals 5-0 series sweep

Pakistan victory seals 5-0 series sweep

By Abdul Waheed
September 22, 2003 11:59 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Pakistan cruised to a 58-run victory in the final one-dayer against Bangladesh on Sunday to complete a 5-0 whitewash of the five-match series.

Also Read

- Rediff Test rankings

- Rediff ODI rankings

The win elevated the hosts into fourth place in the International Cricket Council (ICC) one-day rankings.

Bangladesh were always facing a tall order after a fluent 82 from opener Yasir Hameed helped Pakistan reach 302 for five.

Even though the Bangladesh top order struck form together for the first time in the series with valuable contributions from Hannan Sarkar (50), Rajin Saleh (71) and Alok Kapali (69), the target always appeared to be beyond their reach.

The visitors finished on 244 for seven after 50 overs.

Pakistan ensured that Bangladesh were never in the hunt with some tight and economical bowling.

Saleh, who achieved his highest one-day international score from 96 balls, and Kapali added 128 for the third wicket.

Saleh was also involved in another notable partnership as he scored 50 with Sarkar for the second wicket from 75 balls.

But the target proved too stiff for Bangladesh, who required 82 runs in the last four overs.

Looking to score quick runs as the match headed towards its final overs, Saleh fell and Kapali departed within two balls of each other.

Saleh was run out by Kamran Akmal on the last ball of the 46th over while Kapali was bowled by Umar Gul.

Their dismissals sparked a mini collapse as four Bangladesh wickets fell for six runs in the final four overs.

Pakistan's Yousuf Youhana reached a personal landmark when he reached 5000 runs by scoring a quickfire 52 from just 32 balls.

He become the seventh Pakistani batsman after Javed Miandad, Saeed Anwar, Salim Malik, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Rameez Raja and Ijaz Ahmed to reach the mark.

Pakistan climbed three places in the ICC rankings and are now placed behind Australia, South Africa and England.

The Pakistan team dedicated the 5-0 sweep to their regular captain Rashid Latif, who missed the series following the five-match imposed on him by match-referee Mike Procter for taking a controversial catch in the third Test against Bangladesh at Multan.

Latif was at the stadium to savour the moment, having already led Pakistan to their first home-series win since 1998 with a 3-0 clean sweep in the Tests against Bangladesh.


Mohammad Hafeez st Khaled Mashud b Mohammad Rafique  44
Yasir Hameed st Khaled Mashud b Rajin Saleh                       82
Yousuf Youhana lbw b Mashrafe Mortaza                               52
Inzamam-ul-Haq not out                                                          59
Younis Khan lbw b Mashrafe Mortaza                                      9
Shoaib Malik c Mohammad Rafique b Khaled Mahmud          31
Abdul Razzaq not out                                                             15

Extras: (lb-3 w-6 nb-1)                                                     10

Total: (for five wickets, 50 overs)                                     302

Fall of wickets: 1-95, 2-169, 3-181, 4-199, 5-260.

Did not bat: Kamran Akmal, Shabbir Ahmed, Umar Gul, Mohammad Sami.

Bowling: Tapash Baisya 8-1-47-0, Mushfiqur Rahman 10-1-40-0, Mashrafe Mortaza 9-0-63-2, Khaled Mahmud 9-0-64-1, Mohammad Rafique 10-0-65-1, Rajin Saleh 4-0-20-1.

Hannan Sarkar c Younis Khan b Shoaib Malik           50
Habibul Bashar run out                                               13
Rajin Saleh run out                                                     71
Alok Kapali b Umar Gul                                            69
Tushar Imran c Inzamam-ul-Haq b Mohammad Sami    2
Mushfiqur Rahman run out                                            2
Khaled Mahmud c Abdul Razzaq b Mohammad Sami  14
Khaled Mashud not out                                                 2
Mashrafe Mortaza not out                                             1

Extras: (lb-3 w-13 nb-4)                                         20

Total: (for seven wickets, 50 overs)                       244

Fall of wickets: 1-43, 2-93, 3-221, 4-221, 5-227, 6-227, 7-243.

Did not bat: Mohammad Rafique, Tapash Baisya.

Bowling: Mohammad Sami 9-0-50-2, Umar Gul 10-1-52-1, Shabbir Ahmed 7-0-20-0, Abdul Razzaq 5-0-26-0, Shoaib Malik 10-0-39-1, Mohammad Hafeez 9-0-54-0.

Result: Pakistan won by 58 runs.

First match: Sept 9, Multan - Pakistan won by 137 runs.

Second match: Sept 12, Faisalabad - Pakistan won by 74 runs.

Third match: Sept 15, Lahore - Pakistan won by 42 runs (Duckworth/Lewis method).

Fourth match: Sept 18, Rawalpindi - Pakistan won by five wickets.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Abdul Waheed
Source: source
© Copyright 2021 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

India tour of Australia 2020

India's tour of Australia 2020