NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Sriram leads India 'A' to victory

Sriram leads India 'A' to victory

February 12, 2004 19:51 IST

India 'A' inflicted a 3-0 whitewash over England 'A', defeating the visitors by five wickets in the third and final limited-overs match at the M A Chidambaram stadium in Chennai on Thursday.

Chasing a modest target of 211, the Indians started on a disastrous note, losing the first four wickets for just 34 runs.

But the in-form Sridharan Sriram (105 not out) not only ensured there would be no further damage but also put together a 155-run partnership for the fifth wicket with Y Venugopal Rao (66) as the Indians achieved the target with 4.5 overs to spare.

The partnership was finally broken when Rao fell to a superb catch by Peterson at midwicket off Sajith Mahmood.

Earlier, electing to bat, the visitors slumped from 140 for 3 at one stage to be bowled out for 210 in 42.1 overs.

Ed Smith (76 not out) and Scott Newman (68) were the only two batsman who applied themselves at the crease.

Skipper Sairaj Bahutule claimed three wickets for 33 runs while medium pacer J P Yadav chipped in with 3/52 and Siddharth Trivedi finished with the figures of two for 44.


England 'A':
K Pietersen c Powar b Trivedi 17
S Newman c & b Bahutule 68
M Lumb c Ratra b Trivedi 7
E Smith not out 76
K Ali c & b Powar 0
M Prior c & b Bahutule 9
G Wagg st Ratra b Bahutule 3
J Tredwell b Yadav 3
S Mahood lbw Yadav 13
S Khalid b Yadav 0
S Jones run out 1

Extras: (lb-2, nb-4, w-7) 13

Total: (all out in 42.1 overs) 210

Fall of wickets: 1-27, 2-42, 3-140, 4-143, 5-161, 6-167, 7-174, 8-201, 9-201

Bowling: S Trivedi 6-0-44-2, Munaf Patel 5-0-17-0; J P Yadav 9-0-52-3; Ramesh Powar 9.1-0-45-1; Dinesh Mongia 3-0-17-0, S Bahutule 10-1-33-3.

India 'A':
D Mongia c Jones b Mahmood 1
G Gambhir c Prior b Mahmood 6
S Sriram not out 105
M Manhas c Prior b Wagg 14
J P Yadav c Wagg b Mahmood 0
Y V Rao c Pietersen b Khalid 66
S Bahutule not out 3

Extras: (b-1, lb-3, nb-2, w-12) 18

Total: (for 5 wkts, 45.1 overs) 213

Fall of wickets: 1-4, 2-7, 3-33, 4-34, 5-189

Bowling: Sajith Mahmood 9-0-38-3; Graham Wagg 10-1-38-1; Simon Jones 9-0-38-0; James Tredwell 7.1-1-35-0; Shaftab Khalid 10-0-60-1.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.