NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Bond returns for New Zealand

Bond returns for New Zealand

June 22, 2005 11:44 IST

Shane Bond has been recalled to the New Zealand Test and one day squads for the tour of Zimbabwe starting in August, as the paceman makes his return to international action after a year-long injury break.

Named on Tuesday, Wellington off-spinner Jeetan Patel is the only new member in both line ups, picked for the one-day international matches.

Bond will provide a welcome boost to New Zealand's bowling attack after making a successful recovery from surgery to fix a persistent back problem.

"It is exciting to see Shane Bond back after a successful return to first class cricket," New Zealand coach John Bracewell said in a statement.

"We will monitor his progress in Australia with the Emerging Players team and expect that should he continue to progress well, we will see him return to international cricket at some stage during the Zimbabwe tour."

Bowler Daryl Tuffey and all-rounder Chris Harris have both been left out of the touring party as they recover from injury.

Patel had been picked for his ability to bowl under the bat and late in the innings, Bracewell said.

The squads are almost full-strength with no players unavailable because of moral concerns about Zimbabwe's human rights situation.

In April, captain Stephen Fleming said he would consider boycotting the tour if he thought it would "make a difference".

The New Zealand team has been under pressure to cancel the tour in protest of Zimbabwe President Robert Mugabe's regime with Prime Minister Helen Clarke leading a chorus of disapproval.

Facing a possible $2 million fine from the International Cricket Council if they refuse to tour, New Zealand Cricket have said the trip would go ahead but no action would be taken against individual players who refused to go.

Test squad: Stephen Fleming (captain) Daniel Vettori, Nathan Astle, Shane Bond, Craig Cumming, James Franklin, Hamish Marshall, James Marshall, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram, Scott Styris, Lou Vincent, Paul Wiseman.

One-day squad: Fleming (captain), Vettori, Andre Adams, Astle, Bond, Chris Cairns, Hamish Marshall, McCullum, Craig McMillan, Oram, Mills, Jeetan Patel, Styris, Vincent.


© Copyright 2019 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.