» Cricket » Indian eves win Asia Cup opener

Indian eves win Asia Cup opener

Source: PTI
December 13, 2006 21:23 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Defending champions India started their women's Asia Cup campaign on a winning note, thrashing Pakistan by 80 runs at the Sawai Mansingh stadium in Jaipur on Wednesday.

Rumeli Dhar (53) struck a timely half-century to help India post 239 for 9 in their allotted 50 overs before debutant Trish Kamini claimed three wickets to restrict Pakistan to 159 for 6.

India skipper Mithali Raj's decision to bat first backfired as medium pacer Quanila Jalil (5 for 62) made vital inroads into the top order.

Dhar (53) and Hemalata Kala (45) came together to bail out the hosts after they were tottering at 51 for 4 in 10 overs.

Amita Sharma also struck a unbeaten 45 lower down the order to accelerate the score in the slog overs.

India lost quick wickets with Jalil and Asmavia Iqbal (2-47) rocking them with their fiery spell.

Kala and Dhar stitched the innings, scoring 105 runs for the fifth wicket. Sharma then contributed 45 to help India set a challenging 239 for 9.

Pakistan lost their first wicket early when Taskeen Qabeer (7) was trapped by Sharma. Opener Bisman Maroof (43) and skipper Urooj Mumtaz (23) held the innings together but scored at a slow rate in the face of some disciplined bowling by the Indians.

Sana Javed (17) and Sajda Shah (44) also failed to accelerate the scoreboard.

Kamini was impressive, taking 3 for 19. Jhulan Goswami, Sharma, who was declared the woman of the match, and Reema Malhotra chipped in with a wicket each.

India won the first two editions of the tournament and are gunning for a hat-trick on home soil.


S Naik c Butt b Jalil 12
Trish Kamini b Iqbal 22
Mithali Raj c Sana b Jalil 2
Anjum Chopra c Sana b Iqbal 1
Hemalata Kala c Sana b Rasheed 45
Rumeli Dhar b Jalil 53
Reema Malhotra b Mumtaz 4
Amita Sharma not out 45
Jhulan Goswami c Fatima b Jalil 0
Nausheen lbw Jalil 0
Priti Dimri not out 12
Extras: (b-3, lb-2, wd-38) 43
Total: (50 overs for 9 wickets) 239

Fall of wickets: 1-25, 2-41, 3-48, 4-51, 5-156, 6-163, 7-195 8-207, 9-207

Bowling: Asmavia Iqbal 9-0-47-2, Qanita Jalil 10-0-62-5, Maryam Butt 3-0-17-0, Sajda Shah 8-2-17-2, Sana Mir 4-0-27-0 Sabahat Rasheed 9-1-29-1, Urooj Mumtaz 7-0-35-1.

Taskeen Qabeer lbw Amita 07
Bismah Mahroof lbw Trish 43
Urooz Mumtaz c Jhulan b Reema 23
Sana Javed b Jhulan 17
Sajda Shah c and b Trish 44
Sana Mir not out 9
Q Jalil b Trish 3
M Butt not out 02
Extras: (nb-3, wd-8) 11
Total: (50 overs for 6 wkts) 159

Fall of wickets: 1-18, 2-81, 3-85, 4-139, 5-151, 6-157

Bowling: Jhulan Goswami 7-1-32-1; Amita Sharma 5-0-18-1; Nooshin Al Khadeer 8-0-35-0; Rumeli Dhar 5-1-18-0; Priti Dimri 8-3-17-0; Trish Kamini 10-1-19-3; Reema Malhotra 7-0-20-1.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Indian Premier League - 2021

Indian Premier League - 2021