News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay  » Cricket » BCCI picks Agarkar as Team India's chief selector

BCCI picks Agarkar as Team India's chief selector

By Rediff Cricket
Last updated on: July 04, 2023 22:42 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

IMAGE: Ajit Agarkar appointed chairman of selection committee. Photograph: BCCI

The BCCI on Tuesday named Ajit Agarkar as chairman of the Senior Men’s Selection Committee.

The Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), consisting of Sulakshana Naik, Ashok Malhotra, and Jatin Paranjape, interviewed applicants for the position of one selector in the Men's Selection Committee.

A BCCI statement read, “The three-member CAC has unanimously recommended Ajit Agarkar for the said position.”

The former India all-rounder represented the country in 26 Tests, 191 ODIs, and four T20Is, in addition to playing 110 first-class, 270 List A, and 62 T20 matches.


As a former fast bowler, he was part of India's victorious squad in the inaugural T20 World Cup held in South Africa in 2007. He still holds the record for the fastest half-century by an Indian batter in ODI, achieved with a 21-ball fifty against Zimbabwe in 2000. He also held the record for being the fastest to reach 50 ODI wickets for nearly a decade, accomplishing the milestone in just 23 matches. 

Following his playing career, he was appointed as the Chief Selector for the senior Mumbai Team and undertook coaching responsibilities with the Delhi Capitals.

The committee further recommended Agarkar for the role of Chairperson of the Men’s Selection Committee based on seniority (total number of Test matches). 

Men’s Selection Committee: Ajit Agarkar (Chairperson), Shiv Sundar Das, Subroto Banerjee, Salil Ankola, Sridharan Sharath.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Rediff Cricket