NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Bihar: EC deputes special observer in Rabri's constituency

Bihar: EC deputes special observer in Rabri's constituency

Last updated on: April 28, 2014 13:00 IST

The Election Commission has deputed a special observer for the Lok sabha polls in two parliamentary constituencies -- Saran and Maharajganj in Bihar, to ensure free and fair elections that will be held on May 7, officials on Monday said.

Sanjay Bhooosreddy, an Indian Administrative Service officer of Uttar Pradesh cadre is being deputed as the special observer and will be monitoring the polling process in both constituencies.

“This is first time during an ongoing Lok Sabha poll that the Election Commission has deputed a special observer in Bihar,” an official of the state EC said.

According to officials, district authorities in Saran and Maharajganj had informed the EC that it was a difficult task to conduct free and fair polls in two seats in view of immense political pressure and threat of violence.

Former Bihar chief minister Rabri Devi is contesting from Saran as a Rashtriya Janata Dal candidate against Bharatiya Janata Party candidate and former Union Minister Rajiv Pratap Rudy. Last time, her husband and former chief minister Lalu Prasad Yadav had defeated Rudy. This time, Lalu could not contest polls after being convicted in multi-crore fodder scam last year.

In Maharajganj, RJD candidate and criminal-turned-politician Prabhunath Singh, is seeking re-election as an RJD candidate. The ruling Janata Dal-United has fielded its bahubali legislator Dumal Singh in Maharajganj.

Special Coverage: Election 2014