» Sports » Sasikiran beats Short in Corus chess

Sasikiran beats Short in Corus chess

January 23, 2009 11:20 IST

Grandmaster Krishnan Sasikiran defeated Commonwealth champion and former World championship finalist Nigel Short of England in the fifth round of the 'B' group in the Corus International chess tournament, in Wijk Aan Zee (The Netherlands), on Thursday.

Sasikiran, who had a bad start with just one point from the first four games, proved his mettle against joint leader Short and the Indian now seems on a recovery path with 2 points from five games played so far.

Former World champion Rustam Kasimdzhanov of Uzbekistan emerged the new leader in the 14-player round-robin tournament after settling for a quick draw with Dutchman Dimitri Reindermann.

The other overnight leader -- Fabiano Caruana of Italy also met his nemesis in Zahar Efimenko of Ukraine.

Sasikiran got the better of Short, playing white, in a rather complicated game.

An early deviation in the Sicilian defense witnessed Short gaining a spatial advantage and good central control but the Indian kept himself in the hunt with timely counter attacking measures on the king side.

Short missed the thread of the position in the later part of the middle game and Sasikiran won an exchange that proved decisive in the end. It was an overwhelming attack on his king which forced Short to throw in the towel after 35 moves.

In 'C' group being played simultaneously, Grandmsater Abhijeet Gupta (2.5) bounced back with a victory over Holland's Manuel Bosboom.

Grandmaster Tiger HIlarp Persson of Sweden emerged as sole leader in this section with a clinical demolition of youngster Anish Giri of Russia.

Round 5 Results

Group 'B': Nigel Short (Eng, 3) lost to Krishnan Sasikiran (Ind, 2); David Navara (Cze, 3) drew with Jan Werle (Ned, 2); Dimitri Reinderman (Ned, 2.5) drew with Rustam Kasimdzhanov (Uzb, 3.5); Alexander Motylev (Rus, 2.5) drew with Francisco Vallejo Pons (Esp, 2); Zahar Efimenko (Ukr, 3) bt Caruana Fabiano (Ita, 3); Henrique Mecking (Bra,1) drew with Erwin L'Ami (Ned, 2).

Group 'C': Eduardo Iturrizaga (Ven, 2.5) lost to Wesley So (Phi, 3.5); Oleg Romanishin (Ukr, 2) lost to David Howell (Eng, 3); Anish Giri (Rus, 2) lost to Toger Hillarp Persson (Swe, 4); Abhijeet Gupta (Ind, 2.5) bt Manuel Bosboom (Ned, 3).

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.