NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Kalmadi re-elected IOA president

Kalmadi re-elected IOA president

Last updated on: November 01, 2004 21:49 IST

Suresh Kalmadi was unanimously re-elected president of the Indian Olympic Association on Monday for a record third consecutive term notwithstanding the doping scandal and poor show by the country in the Athens Olympics.

Kalmadi's election at the IOA's Annual General Meeting comes at a time when the weightlifting discipline has been rocked by allegations of lax administration and wrangling between athletes and coaches on doping and concerns over all-round performance of Indian participants in the Olympics.

Kalmadi, who was also authorised by the IOA's General Body to select his team of office-bearers, nominated incumbent Randhir Singh as the secretary-general while replacing treasurer Raj Chopra, who was made vice-president, by A K Matoo.

The general body of the IOA also nominated Himachal Pradesh Sports Minister Ramlal Thakur as the chef-de-mission for the 2006 Doha Asian Games and B K Saha for the 2006 Commonwealth Games, to be held in Melbourne, Kalmadi told reporters after the meeting, held at the newly-built Indian Olympic Bhavan in New Delhi.

Former international shooter Gurbir Singh will be Saha's deputy while Narayan Reddy was made the chef-de-mission for the Commonwealth Youth Games.

The IOA president also said an NRI Olympic Support Commission, headed by Gurbir, has been established to raise funds from Non Resident Indians for the development of the Olympic movement in the country.

President: Suresh Kalmadi

Secretary-general: Randhir Singh

Treasurer: A K Mattoo

Advisor: R L Anand, Prof. Gurusewak Singh

Vice-presidents: V K Malhotra, Sr Vice president, Abhay Singh Chautala, P R Das Munshi, J S Geholt, Digvijay Singh, Vidya Stokes, Raj Chopra, M C Chowhan, C D Nanavati, Avinash C Kholi, K Murugan, Ashoke Ghosh.

Associate vice-president: H J Dora, Tarlochan Singh, Ram Lal Thakur (Chef de Mission, Asian Games), Mohd Aslam Khan (Commonwealth Games), R K Anand, N Ramachandran, Bhuvaneshwar Kalita, Rangil Singh, Anil Khanna, V K Verma, Govind Raj, Arjun Bikram Shah

Life presidents: Ashwani Kumar, V C Shukla and B S Adityan.

Chairman of Commission (Equivalent to Vice president): Jagdish Tytler (Indian continental Preparation  Task), Brig K P Singh Deo (Sports Development Commission), Arvind Khanna (corporate Sector Coordination), Col. N Kumar (Winter Games Commission), Lal Thanhawla (North-East Olympic commission) J S Grewal (Affiliation/Dispute Commission) Durga Das Boro (Press and TV Commission), Prahlad Sawant, Convenor, Sangeeta Singh Deo (Women commission), G S Mander, (Security Commission), Gurbir Singh (NRI Olympic support Commission), Dr Manmohan Singh (medical & Anti Doping Commission), K P S Gill (Sport Infrastructure Commission)

Joint-secretaries: Lalit Bhanot, S M Bali, Amrit Bose, Harish Sharma, Ashutosh Sharma, Rana G S Sodhi.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.