NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Indian Airlines win K D Singh Babu hockey

Indian Airlines win K D Singh Babu hockey

December 10, 2002 23:51 IST

Star-studded Indian Airlines beat Border Security Force 3-0 to win the 23rd All India K D Singh Babu memorial hockey tournament at the Dhyan Chand stadium in Delhi on Tuesday.

The triumph earned Indian Airlines Rs 40,000 while BSF got Rs 25,000 for finishing runners-up.

Namdhari XI, Ludhiana, beat Western Raillway, Mumbai, 2-0 to take third place.

For the first time in the 23-year-old history of the tournament a play-off was held for the third place. 

Dhanraj Pillay, Ravinder Singh and Sameer Dad scored for Airlines, who led 1-0 at half-time.

Indian Airlines' A B Subaiah was adjudged the best goalkeeper of the tournament while Dhanraj Pillay, Dilip Tirkey and Harbhajan Singh won the awards for best forward, best defender and best half back respectively.