» Sports » India at the Games - Day 5

India at the Games - Day 5

March 20, 2006 19:07 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:


  • Shooters strike it rich, claiming three gold and one silver
  • Samaresh Jung-Jaspal Rana win 25m centre-fire pistol
  • Samaresh Jung's tally is now three gold, one silver
  • Abhinav Bindra-Gagan Narang win second gold
  • Jejaswini and Nvneet one-two in 10m air pistol
  • Men's table tennis team wins gold
  • Women's table tennis team wins bronze
  • Silver medal for women lifter Laishram Devi
  • Badminton team wins bronze
  • Manjit Kaur enters women's 400m final
  • Big wins for men and women's hockey teams
  • Three more boxers enter quarter-finals
  • India's tally at the Games: 12 gold, 8 silver, 3 bronze

Indian shooters continued to excel at the Commonwealth Games in Melbourne, though on Monday they had to share the spotlight with the men's table tennis team that played an outstanding final to beat fancied Singapore team for the team gold.

Samaresh Jung won his third gold medal of the Games, as he partnered Jaspal Rana to win the men's 25m Centre-Fire Pistol Pairs on Monday morning. Jung shot 577 and that along with Rana's 573 took India's total to 1150 points, 12 more than second-placed England.

Earlier in the day, the 50m Rifle 3-position combination of Abhinav Bindra and Gagan Narang won their second gold medal.

The women were not far behind, with Tejaswini Sawant and Avneet Kaur Sidhu, whon won the Pairs gold in the 10m Air Rifle finished one-two in the individual event.

The three gold and one silver took India's shooting tally to nine gold and four silver.

Bindra and Narang, who took to 50m Rifle 3-position barely a year ago, shot a total of 2287, a huge 18 points more than the silver medallists.

Tejaswini Sawant edged out teammate Avneet Kaur Sidhu in the final set of 10 shots after both equalled the Games record in the qualification by shooting an identical 398 each in the women's 10m Air Rifle individual event.

The 25-year-old Tejaswani shot a 102.6 to total 500.6, while Avneet shot 102.2 and aggregated 500.2 to finish one-two on the podium.

Monika Laishram Devi was still a comfortable silver medallist in the women's 69 kg category.

The Manipur lifter was the best in the field in snatch, with a lift of 100 kg, after moving through 93 kg and 96 kg on her first two attempts. She lifted 122 kg in clean and jerk.

Sixteen-year-old Saina Nehwal won another fine singles match as India beat New Zealand 3-1 to win bronze in the badminton team event.

Diju Valiyaveetil and Jwala Gutta beat Daniel Shirley and P Runesten in mixed doubles, and Saina beat Rebecca Bellingham in the women's singles. The men's doubles pair of Rupesh Kumar and Sanave Thomas gave India the winning point.

Twenty-two year-old Indian national champion Mouma Das won a five-game clash against Canada's China-born Xu Hong Huang to give India a 3-2 win in the play-off for bronze medal.

Poulomi Ghatak and Nandita Saha also won one singles each.



Deepmala L Devi 20km Walk (W) sixth in final 1:40:54s (6thin final)
Malati Holla EAD Shot put (W) 9th in final 424
Orchatteri Jaisha (W) 1,500m eliminated 4:15.58s (7th in heat)
Parayil Jalan (M) 20 km walk fifth in final 1:30:43s
Vikas Gowda(M) Shot put Fifth in final 18.46m
Manjit Kaur (W) 400m – semis Qualified Final 52.31s (3rd in semis)
*Manjit qualified for final as one of the two best losers.


India beat New Zealand 3-1: Bronze medal match

Diju Valiyaveetil/ Jwala Gutta beat Dan Shirley/ P Runesten21-17, 13-21, 21-9
Anup Sridhar lost to David Moody 21-11, 8-21, 19-21
Saina Nehwal beat 21-13, 24-22
Rupesh Kumar/ S Thomas beat Dan Shirley/ C Cooper 11-21, 21-11, 21-18


India beat Mozambique Women 58-54 (28-24)

India lost to Men 133-49 (79-21)

India failed to qualify for semi-finals in both sections


Akhil Kumar beat Atanas Mugerwa 54 kg RSC III

Diawakar Prasad beat M Coriakula (Fij) 57 kg RSC II

Jitender Kumar beat M Letsopea (Les) 51 kg on points 26-12

Jai Bhagwan lost to FR Gavin (Gha) 60 kg on points 8-20


India v Trinidad Men India won 10-1

India v Nigeria Women India won 8-0


Men's 25m Centre Fire Pistol Pairs
1. Samaresh Jung (577) and Jaspal (573) Ind 1150
2. Peter Flippant (579) and Lucas Simon (559) Eng 1138
3. Alan McDonald (563) and D Van Tonder (290) SAF 1135

Men's 50m Rifle 3-prone Pairs
1. Abhinav Bindra (1144) and Gagan Narang (1143) Ind 2287
2. Michael Brown (1129) and Ben Burge (1140) Aust 2269
3. Jason Burrage (1129) and Chris Hector (1136) Eng 2265

Women's 10m Air Rifle (Individual)
1. Tejaswini Sawant Ind 500.6 (398 + 102.6)
2. Avneet Kaur Sidhu Ind 500.2 (398 + 102.2)
3. Vanessa Yong Yu Zhen Sing 499.9 (397 + 102.9)

Men's Skeets Pairs
1. George Achilleos (97) / Antonis Nikolaides (93) Cyp 190
2. Clive Bramley (91)/ Richard Brackwell (95) Eng 186
3. Clive Barton (90)/ George Barton (95) Aust 185
8. PS Bedi (85)/ Amit Sanghi (90) Ind 175


Prem Kumar (M-EAD) 100m free eliminated 1:22.49s (4th in heat)
TK Subbaiah (M-EAD) 100m free eiminated 1:27.07s (5th in heat)
Rehan Poncha (M) 200m IM eliminated 2:13.22s (5th in heat)
Arjun Muralidharan (M) 200m IM eliminated 2:13.21s (5th in heat)


India beat Canada 3-2: Bronze medal: play-off
Poulomi Ghatak beat Xu Hong Guang 13-11, 11-7, 12-10
Mouma Das lost to Zhang Mo 9-11, 11-13, 8-11
Nandita Saha beat Yuen Sara 1-11, 11-4, 12-10, 11-7
Poulomi Ghatak lost to Zhang Mo 7-11, 8-11, 5-11
Mouma Das beat Xu Hong Guang 5-11, 11-7, 11-3, 8-11, 11-5

FINAL: India beat Singapore 3-2
Soumyadeep Roy lost to Zi yang 5-11, 3-11, 8-11
Sharath Kamal lost to Cao Xi 11-9, 9-11, 11-3, 7-11, 8-11
Shubhajit Saha beat Jason Ho 10-12, 11-5, 11-7, 12-10
Sharath Kamal beat Zi Yang 5-11, 11-6, 6-11, 11-7, 11-7
Soumyadeep Roy beat Cai Xiao Li 11-6, 8-11, 11-7, 11-6


Women's 69 kg
1. Elizabeth Lassen Can 229 kg (97 kg snatch; 132 kg C&J)
2. Monica Laishram Devi Ind 222 kg (100 kg snatch; 122 kg C&J)
3. Janet Marie Thelmont Sey 205 kg (95 kg snatch; 110m kg C&J)

Men's 85 kg
1. Shuja-ud-Din Malik Pak 343 kg (150 kg snatch; 193 kg C&J)
2. Vivien Brice Batchaya Cameroon 331 kg (151 kg snatch; 180 kg C&J)
3. Simplice Riboeum Cameroon 325 kg (145 kg snatch; 180 kg C&J)
4. Sateesha Rai India 323 kg (146 kg snatch; 176 kg C&J)

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

India tour of Australia 2020

India's tour of Australia 2020