News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay  » Sports » Asian Games: Sarabjot-Divya win silver in 10m air pistol mixed team event

Asian Games: Sarabjot-Divya win silver in 10m air pistol mixed team event

Source: PTI
Last updated on: September 30, 2023 11:02 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

IMAGE: Sarabjot Singh and Divya T S pose with their silver medals in the 10m air pistol mixed team event at the Asian Games on Saturday. Photograph: Team India/X

Birthday boy Sarabjot Singh and Divya T S continued India's unprecedented run in shooting, winning silver in the 10m air pistol mixed team event to take the country's medal tally in the discipline to 19 at the Asian Games in Hangzhou on Saturday.

India's shooters have so far won six gold, eight silver and five bronze at the Asian Games, their best-ever showing in the continental showpiece.


The Indian pair was beaten to the gold medal by World champion shooter Zhang Bowen and compatriot Jiang Ranxin, who emerged 16-14 victors in the shoot-off for the top podium finish.

Sarabjot, who had won the men's 10m air pistol team gold with Arjun Singh Cheema and Shiva Narwal on Thursday, looked on course to bring India its seventh gold  in mixed team event partnering Divya, but a few poor shots during the latter part of the shoot-off undid the good work done in the qualification round by the pair.

India started the finals with a flourish and were leading 11-7 till the ninth series of shots. But the experienced Chinese shooters rallied from thereon to equalise at 11-all and again at 14-all before Ranxin came up with a superb 10.7 and Bowen 10.3 giving no chance for the Indians to match up to the score.

Sarabjot, who turned 22 on Saturday, shot 10.5, while 28-year-old Divya had a rank poor shot of 9.9, which sealed their fate on the 15th shot.

Earlier in the qualification round, Sarabjot shot 291, while Divya scored 286 to aggregate 577 and enter the finals as the No.1 team ahead of China (576).

In the mixed team 10m air pistol event, the top-six teams in qualification enter the medal round but only the No.1 and No.2 placed teams play the shoot-off for gold, while teams placed between No.3 and No.6 compete for two bronze medals.

The South Korean pair of Lee Wonho and Kim Bomi defeated the Japanese duo of Morikawa Seiji and Yamada Satoko 16-8 for the first bronze, while Iranian shooters Amir Joharikhou and Haniyeh Rostamiyan defeated the Pakistani pair of Joseph Gulfam and Talat Kishmala 16-14 for the second bronze.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2023 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

India Tour South Africa 2023-24

India Tour South Africa 2023-24