NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » HRD goes from Smriti to Javadekar, I&B from Jaitley to Naidu

HRD goes from Smriti to Javadekar, I&B from Jaitley to Naidu

Last updated on: July 05, 2016 23:56 IST

 Smriti Irani was on Tuesday shifted from the key Human Resource Development ministry to less significant Textiles portfolio and replaced by the newly elevated Cabinet minister Prakash Javadekar after an expansion of the Union Council of Ministers and reshuffle in which Finance Minister Arun Jaitley shed the additional Information and Broadcast portfolio.

IMAGE: President Pranab Mukherjee, Vice President M. Hamid Ansari and Prime Minister Narendra Modi with the newly inducted Ministers after a swearing-in ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan, in New Delhi. Photograph: PIB

"The shifting of Irani, whose two-year tenure in the Human Resources Development ministry was marked by controversies over dalit scholar Rohith Vemula's suicide in Hyderabad and the Jawaharlal Nehru University row, triggered speculation whether it was a tactical move to give a less important portfolio or to be left free to be the face of Bharatiya Janata Party campaign in Uttar Pradesh assembly polls due in 2017.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi inducted 19 new faces, including BJP leaders S S Ahluwalia, M J Akbar and Vijay Goel, while elevating Environment Minister Prakash Javadekar in the second expansion of his government ahead of political battles in Uttar Pradesh and other states. Akbar will be the second Minister of state for External Affairs along with V K Singh.

Urban Development Minister M Venkaiah Naidu gets Information and Broadcasting portfolio but loses the Parliamentary Affairs which has been given to Chemicals and Fertilisers Minister Ananthkumar.

The reshuffle also saw D V Sadananda Gowda being relieved of the Law and Justice portfolio which goes to Information Technology Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad. Gowda has got Statistics and Programme implementation.

Jayant Sinha has been shifted from finance to civil aviation in the minister of state rank, a post held by Mahesh Sharma, who will now look after only Culture and Tourism.

Five ministers of state were dropped in the second exercise undertaken by Modi in a little more than two years since he took over in May, 2014 which saw a number of dalit and OBC leaders being given ministerial positions apparently with an eye on assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand next year and Gujarat later.

After the dropping of five ministers, Tuesday's expansion took the total strength of the Council of Ministers to 78, just keeping it under the constitutionally allowed maximum.

Among the Cabinet Ministers, Chaudhary Birender Singh has been shifted to Steel from the Ministry of Rural Development, Panchayati Raj and Drinking Water and Sanitation which now goes to Narendra Singh Tomar. Tomar was earlier Minister of Mines and Steel.

There has been no other change in portfolios of other Cabinet ministers and Ministers of State, some of whom have got departmetns held by the ministers who have been dropped.

Piyush Goyal, who is the MoS in Power, Coal and Renewable energy with Independent charge, gets the additional Mines portfolio.

Manoj Sinha, who is the MoS in Railways gets Communications as Independent charge while Santosh Kumar Gangwar, who was MoS(Independent charge) in Textiles, goes to Finance in place of Jayant Sinha. Arjun Ram Meghwal will be the second MoS in the Finance Ministry.

Javadekar, who held independent charge of Environment, was the lone minister to be promoted to the cabinet rank while all new inductees took oath as Ministers of State. Earlier, there was speculation that Goyal and Commerce Minister Nirmala Sitharaman will be elevated to the Cabinet.

Among the new ministers with MoS rank Vijay Goel gets Youth Affairs and Sports as Independent charge, a post held by Sarbananda Sonowal before he became the chief minister of Assam while Anil Madhav Dave comes in place of Javadekar in the Environment Ministry with independent charge.

BJP ally Apna Dal leader Anupriya Patel gets Health and Family Welfare along with Faggan Singh Kulaste while Dr S R Bhamre will be Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar's deputy.

Ahluwalia gets Agriculture and Farmers welfare and Parliamentary Affairs.

Ajay Tamta (Uttarakhand), Arjun Ram Meghwal (Rajasthan), Krishna Raj (UP), Ramdas Athawale (Maharashtra), Ramesh C Jigajinagi (Karnataka) were among the dalit MPs administered the oath of Office and Secrecy by President Pranab Mukherjee at a ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhawan attended by Vice-President Hamid Ansari, Modi, his cabinet colleagues, BJP President Amit Shah and leaders allied parties among others. No Congress leader was present.

Others who were inducted included P P Chaudhary, C R Chaudhary (Rajasthan), A M Dave, Faggan Singh Kulaste (Madhya Pradesh), Mahendra Nath Pandey (UP), Purshotam Rupala, J Bhabhor and Mansukhbhai Mandaviya (Gujarat), Rajen Gohain (Assam) and S R Bhamre (Maharashtra).

A Rashtrapati Bhavan communique said the President has accepted the resignation of Sanawar Lal Jat (Water Resources), Mohanbhai Kalyanjibhai Kundariya (Agriculture), Nihal Chand (Panchayati Raj), Mansukhbhai Dhanjibhai Vasava (Tribal Affairs) and Ram Shankar Katheria (HRD). 

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.