» News » 6 former Maha CMs attend Thackeray's swearing-in

6 former Maha CMs attend Thackeray's swearing-in

Source: PTI
November 28, 2019 21:29 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:


IMAGE: Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray with wife Rashmi Thackeray and son Aaditya Thackeray and other leaders after being sworn-in as Maharashtra chief minister at Shivaji Park in Mumbai on Thursday. Photograph: Hitesh Harisinghani/

Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray's swearing-in ceremony as Maharashtra chief minister saw six of his predecessors from the state gracing the event held at the Shivaji Park in Mumbai on Thursday evening.


Nationalist Congress Party patriarch Sharad Pawar, Shiv Sena leader Manohar Joshi, Congress leaders Sushilkumar Shinde, Ashok Chavan and Prithviraj Chavan and Bharatiya Janata Party's Devendra Fadnavis are the six former CMs who headed the state at different times and were present at the mega event.

Thackeray succeeded Fadnavis (2014-2019). Pawar has headed the state four times, while Ashok Chavan and Fadnavis became chief ministers twice. Joshi, Shinde, Prithviraj Chavan and Fadnavis held the post once.

Interestingly, among all the six former CMs, only Fadnavis, the first BJP leader to hold the top post in the state, completed full five-year term.

The Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress formed the government after the Thackeray-led party fell out with pre-poll ally BJP over sharing the chief ministerial post.

The assembly election was held on October 21 and its result was declared on October 24.

The BJP emerged as the single largest party winning 105 seats.

The Sena, the NCP and the Congress won 56, 54 and 44 seats, respectively, in the 288-member Maharashtra assembly.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus