» News » Ker CM Pinarayi Vijayan files nomination papers

Ker CM Pinarayi Vijayan files nomination papers

Source: PTI   -  Edited By: Roshneesh Kmaneck
Last updated on: March 15, 2021 14:03 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, who is contesting the April 6 assembly polls from the Dharmadam constituency in Kannur district, filed his nomination papers on Monday.

Vijayan, who submitted two sets of papers, arrived at the Kannur collectorate around 11 am following COVID-19 protocols.

The 76-year-old Marxist leader, wearing a face shield, mask and gloves, was accompanied by party leaders including Communist Party of India-Marxist’s Kannur district secretary M V Jayarajan.


In a tweet, Vijayan said, "Submitted my nomination as Dharmadam's LDF candidate. Development and welfare projects implemented over the last 5 years need to be strengthened further. We will stand with the people to ensure a prosperous Kerala. People wholeheartedly say #LDFforSure and we are confident."

The ruling CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front, is hoping to break the jinx of rival fronts coming to power alternately this time.

This is the second time Vijayan is trying his luck from Dharmadam, a picturesque constituency spread over Kannur and Thalassery taluks in the district.

The only Politburo member of the CPI-M to be contesting, this is Vijayan's sixth election to the state assembly.

Earlier, he had represented Kuthuparamba in Kannur thrice in the House --1970, 1977 and 1991 and in 1996 he was elected from Payyannur.

In 2016, he won from Dharmadam and is trying his luck again from the constituency.

Vijayan was the power minister in the E K Nayanar cabinet from 1996 to 1998 and was appointed CPI-M state secretary following the death of incumbent Chadayan Govindan.

In the 2016 assembly polls, the LDF rode to power with a massive majority of 91 seats in the 140-member assembly and Vijayan was appointed the chief minister.

The Bharatiya Janata Party has fielded C K Padmanabhan, a former state president, the Congress-led UDF had allotted the seat to its ally Forward Bloc.

However, G Devarajan, Forward Bloc chief in Kerala, who was to contest, saidthe party has decided to hand the seat back to the Congress reportedly following directions from the central leadership.

The UDF has not yet announced a new candidate.

"The Dharmadamseat was allotted to us, but we have decided to return the seat to the Congress", Devarajan told the media.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Roshneesh Kmaneck© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus