NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Tendulkar only Indian in ICC's World ODI team

Tendulkar only Indian in ICC's World ODI team

September 11, 2007 02:20 IST

Call it a paradox. Amid reports of his retirement, Sachin Tendulkar is the only Indian player to have found a place in the International Cricket Council's World One-Day team. The awards were announced in Johannesburg late Monday.

Not surprisingly, Australia's Ricky Ponting was named the Player and Captain of the Year. But surprisingly, Indian all-rounder Jhulan Goswami won the Women Cricketer of the Year.

Both the ODI and Test teams were selected by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by Sunil Gavaskar. Ricky Ponting, again, has been named the captain of both the teams.

 Major Awards:

Player of the Year: Ricky Ponting

Captain of The Year: Ricky Ponting

Women Cricketer of  The Year: Jhulan Goswami

Test Player of The Year: Mohammed Yousuf

ODI player of The Year: Matthew Hayden

Emerging Player of the Year: Shaun Tait

Associate Player of the Year: Thomas Odoyo

Umpire of the Year: Simon Taufel

Spirit of Cricket Award: Sri Lanka

 The World ODI Team of the Year (in batting order) is:

Matthew Hayden (Aus), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind), Ricky Ponting (Aus, captain), Kevin Pietersen (Eng), S  Chanderpaul (WI), Jacques Kallis (SA), Mark Boucher (SA, wicket-keeper) Chaminda Vaas (SL), Shane Bond (NZ) Muttiah Muralidharan (SL), Glenn McGrath (Aus) 12th man: Michael Hussey (Aus)

The World Test Team of the Year (in batting order) is: Matthew Hayden (Aus), Michael Vaughan (Eng), Ricky Ponting (Aus, captain), Mohammad Yousuf (Pak), Kevin Pietersen (Eng) Michael Hussey (Aus), Kumar Sangakkara (SL, wicketkeeper) Stuart Clark (Aus), Makhaya Ntini (SA), Mohammad Asif (Pak) Muttiah Muralidaran (SL), 12th man: Zaheer Khan (Ind).