» News » Gujarat polls: CPI-M to contest from 10 constituencies

Gujarat polls: CPI-M to contest from 10 constituencies

Source: PTI
November 16, 2012 20:50 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The Communist Party of India – Marxist on Friday announced that it will contest the Gujarat assembly polls in December from at least ten constituencies.

"In Gujarat, our party is going to contest total ten seats. Today we are releasing a list of six candidates and we will later announce other names," former Member of Parliament and CPI-M leader Sukomal Sen said while releasing the party manifesto.

Sen said that the party promises to take up issues related to food security and providing 35 kg of grain at Rs 2 per kg to poor people.

Criticising the Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party government, he alleged that there was no difference between the economic policies of the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance government and Modi-led Gujarat government and described them as being "anti-people."

Talking about Modi's recent Vivekananda Yuva Vikas Yatra, Sen said, "During his yatra, Modi very conveniently omitted what Vivekananda had said about Hindu-Muslim unity."

CPI-M is in talks with rebel BJP Member of Legislative Assembly Kanubhai Kalsaria to extend support to each other's candidate in the coming elections. Kalsaria has decided to field seven candidates of his recently-formed Swabhiman Manch.

State CPI-M secretary Arun Mehta said that the party would field candidates from Visavadar (Junagadh), Rajkot (East), Umargam (Valsad), Jamnagar Rural, Khedbrahma (Sabarkantha) and Santrampur (Panchmahal).

"At present, there is a crisis of morality and honesty in both the major political parties of the state. And CPM is the only political party which has stood the test of honesty and right now Gujarat is in need of a honest and moral leadership," Mehta added.

CPI-M politburo member Brinda Karat is going to address a public rally in Bhavnagar during the election campaign.

Other national leaders like party general secretary Prakash Karat, MP Sitaram Yechuri, former MPs Suhasini Ali, Mohammad Salim, Nilotpal Basu and MLA from Rajasthan Amara Ramjee are also likely to campaign.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus