NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Goa speaker to rule on MLAs' disqualification

Goa speaker to rule on MLAs' disqualification

Last updated on: July 30, 2007 11:59 IST

The Goa Assembly speaker has said he will rule on the disqualification petitions against legislators Sudin Dhavalikar, Dipak Dhavalikar and Victoria Fernandes at 2 pm.

Earlier, the Bharatiya Janata Party filed a disqualification petition with the Goa Assembly speaker against Independent legislator Vishwajit Rane.

The Congress too filed for the disqualification of Independent MLA Anil Salgaoncar.

Salgaoncar had extended support to the Congress-led ruling coalition after the June 2 assembly polls. He along with the two-member MGP withdrew support to the 51-day-old Kamat government on Thursday, reducing it to a minority.

This led Governor S C Jamir to direct the chief minister to take a floor test to prove his majority.

On the other hand, GDA has claimed the support of 20 MLAs, who were paraded before President Pratibha Patil in New Delhi on Saturday by the BJP to show the newly-formed alliance has adequate number to form government in the politically mercurial state.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.