NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Armymen receive gallantry medals

Armymen receive gallantry medals

January 15, 2007 14:52 IST

The Sena medals for gallantry were awarded to armymen by Army Chief General J J Singh on Monday.

Maj Maneesh Kukrety (5 Jat Regiment) was awarded the Bar to Sena Medal by the general on the 59th Sena Divas celebrated at the parade ground in New Delhi.

Maj Kukrety killed two terrorists in Jammu and Kashmir on February 23, 2006.

Maj Amit Rathi (Armoured Corps/53 Rashtriya Rifles) was awarded the Sena medal posthumously for killing a terrorist and preventing the escape of another during a search operation in Budgam district of Jammu and Kashmir on January 13, 2005.

Naib Subedar Avtar Singh (13 Sikh Regiment) was awarded the medal posthumously for neutralising an infiltration bid by killing two terrorists near the Line of Control on January 7, 2005.

Sepoy Sundra (Maratha Light Infantry) was also awarded the medal posthumously for killing one of the most wanted terrorists in Poonch district on the night of June 12, 2005.

Sepoy Roshan Singh (Pubjab/37 Rashtriya Rifles) got the award posthumously for killing a terrorist during a search operation in Poonch on February 15, 2005.

Paratrooper Prasan Pradhan (21 Parachute Regiment) got the Sena medal for killing two terrorists during a raid in Manipur's Churachanpur district.

Others who received the Sena medals for gallantry are Lt Col Samiran Debnath (Artillery/1 Assam Rifles), Maj (now Lt Col) Alin Deb Saha (1 Parachute Regiment-Special Forces), Maj Jagdeep Singh Lamba (Army Service Corps/29 Rashtriya Rifles), Maj Ravi Kumar Maney (6 Assam Regiment), Capt A Raghuraam (Signals/37 Rashtriya Rifles), Lt (now Capt) Bhupender Solanki (Army Ordnance Corps/11 Jammu & Kashmir Light Infantry), Havildar Jayanta Kumar Maity (Mahar/51 Rashtriya Rifles), Naik Sanjeev Kumar (Engineers/36 Rashtriya Rifles), and Gunner Praveen Kumar (Army Air Defence/23 Rashtriya Rifles).

General Singh, who reviewed the parade, also gave away citations to 6 Engineers Regiment, 3 Parachute Regiment, 25 Punjab Regiment, 11 Garhwal Rifles, 11 Jammu & Kashmir Light Infantry, 26 Rashtriya Rifles and 36 Rashtriya Rifles.