Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > India > News > Report

Lapang sworn in Meghalaya CM; MPA to move SC

K Anurag in Guwahati | March 10, 2008 17:38 IST
Last Updated: March 10, 2008 21:09 IST

Related Articles
75 per cent cast votes in Meghalaya

Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader D D Lapang was sworn in the new chief minister of Meghalaya on Monday at the Raj Bhawan. The function was boycotted by Meghalaya Progressive Alliance, a brainchild NCP leader P A Sangma.

 Lapang was asked to prove majority in the House in 10 days. The Congress won 25 seats in 60-member Meghalaya House and that was six short of the magic figure of 31. 

The Governor administered the oath of office to Lapang in presence of all the other 24 elected MLAs from the Congress in a ceremony that was boycotted by all other 34 elected MLAs, including the 31 from the post-poll Meghalaya Progressive Alliance (MPA) comprising the NCP, BJP, two regional parties (UDP and HSPDP) and two Independents.

Only Lapang took oath of office and the rest of Congress legislators are expected to take the oath on Tuesday along with other newly elected members of the House

The Governor told the media that Congress was called to form the government as per convention on being the single largest party. He said Lapang would have to prove his majority in the floor of the House within 10 days. He also pointed out that the MPA was not a pre-election alliance.

 NCP leader P A Sangma and all other members of the MPA criticised the Governor's decision to call the Congress to form the government despite the party failing to attain simple majority in the House. Sangma said, 'The Governor's action was unconstitutional and murder of democracy."

Agency reports say Sangma will also move the Supreme Court against the installation of the new government.