You are here: Rediff Home » India » News » Report
Search: The Web
  Discuss this Article   |      Email this Article   |      Print this Article

New Karnataka assembly session gets underway
Vicky Nanjappa in Bengaluru
Related Articles
Karnataka Elections 2008
Get news updates:What's this?
June 04, 2008 14:31 IST

The 13th Legislative Assembly of Karnataka, which was recently elected, session got underway on Wednesday.

Proceedings commenced with the House selecting a pro tem speaker who in turn administrated the oath of office to all the legislators.

K G Bopaiah, of the Bharatiya Janata Party from Kodagu district, was chosen as the pro tem speaker by the House.

He administered the oath first to Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa, followed by opposition leader in the House Mallikarjuna Kharge.

All the ministers in the Yeddyurappa cabinet were then administered the oath, which was followed by the rest of the MLAs. The oath ceremony is expected to carry on to Wednesday also.

The House decided to elect the speaker of the House on Thursday at 5 pm. The BJP has fielded Jagadish Shettar as its speaker candidate.

It seems as though the decision is likely to be unanimous as none of the parties have filed their nomination for the post of speaker as yet. Neither the Congress nor the Janata Dal-Secular have fielded any candidate for the post of speaker.

The BJP had a rough ride before fielding Shettar as the candidate.

Violence had broken out in various parts of northern Karnataka following the decision not to include Shettar into the Cabinet.

Shettar was then summoned to New Delhi where the high command coaxed him to take up the post, following which he agreed.

 Email this Article      Print this Article

© 2008 India Limited. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Feedback