You are here: Rediff Home » India » News » PTI
Search: The Web
  Discuss this Article   |      Email this Article   |      Print this Article

BJP releases second list for Gujarat polls
Get news updates:What's this?
November 20, 2007 23:38 IST

The Bharatiya Janata Party, seeking to retain power in Gujarat by overcoming anti-incumbency, on Tuesday night released the second list of 12 candidates for the first phase of Assembly polls in Gujarat.

The list, declared by the party after a meeting of its Central Election Committee, covers constituencies in Saurashtra, Kutch and South Gujarat.

The party has already announced nominees for 73 of the 87 seats which would go for polls in the first phase on December 11. The second list announced on Tuesday included two women.

The party has already announced the candidature of Chief Minister Narendra Modi from Maninagar seat, which would go to polls in second phase.

The candidates announced today are Jayantibhai Banushali (Ambdasa), Danji Govind Bhai Sengani (Mandvi), Vasan Gopal Ahir (Bhuj), Virendra Singh Bahadur Singh Jadeja (Rapar), Kaplabehn Karamsibhai Makwana (Chotila) and Jyotsnabehn Jitubhai Somani (Bankaner). It also included Jayaraj Singh Jadeja (Gondal), Rajsi Virabhai Jotwa (Somnath), Bababhai Bikabhai Mowalia (Babra), Mansukbhai Panchabhai Bhuwa (Dhari), Kiritbhai Gangarambhai Patel (Olpar) and Daulatrai Nathubhai Desai (Valsad).

The 14 districts in South Gujarat, Saurashtra and Kutch are going for the polls during the first phase of polls and the saffron party has already given tickets to all the 10 ministers from the region.

The central election committee meeting was chaired by BJP President Rajnath Singh and attended by senior party leaders L K Advani, Jaswant Singh, Arun Jaitley, M Venkaiah Naidu and Modi besides others.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
 Email this Article      Print this Article

© 2007 India Limited. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Feedback