» Movies » PIX: Raashi Khanna, Samantha, NTR Jr at an awards night

PIX: Raashi Khanna, Samantha, NTR Jr at an awards night

Last updated on: June 19, 2017 17:10 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Joker, Thithi, Maheshinte Prathikaram and Pelli Choopulu bag the big awards of the night!

The 64th South Filmfare awards ceremony was a glamorous affair at the HICC Complex in Hyderabad.

There were some expected wins, and many wonderful surprises.

Hosted by Vijay Devarakonda, Allu Sirish, and Ragini Dwivedi, the red carpet saw stars from the Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam and Kannada film industries.


Raashi Khanna took a break from her super busy career -- she has three Telugu, two Tamil and one Malayalam release this year -- to attend the function.


Samantha won the Best Actress (Telugu) award for her film A...Aa.

Other actresses, who won an award in this category, were Nayanthara for her Malayalam film Puthiya NiyamamShraddha Srinath for her Kannada film U Turn and Ritika Singh for her Tamil film Irudhi Suttru.

Incidentally, Ritika's co-star in the film R Madhavan won the Best Actor award and Sudha Kongara won the Best Director award. Ironically, the film that has won so many raves in Tamil cinema sank without a trace in its Hindi version, Saala Khadoos. 


Pragya Jaiswal's action drama Nakshatram will release in August.


NTR Jr gets the Best Actor (Telugu) award for his thriller, Nannaku Prematho.

The film also fetched awards for Jagapathi Babu (Best Supporting Actor) and Devi Sri Prasad (Best Music Director).


Allu Arjun won the Best Actor (Critic's Choice) award for Sarrainodu. He dedicated the award to producer-director Dasari Narayana Rao, who passed away recently.

He shares the award with Suriya (24), Dulquer Salmaan (Kali & Kammattipadam) and Rakshit Shetty (Kirk Party).


Allu Aravind seems proud of his son's achievements.


Actor-director Suhasini Mani Ratnam.


Prakash Raj gets suited up for the occasion like his peers. He will be seen next in Golmaal Again.


Actor Sachiin Joshi.


Comedian Ali.


Director Tharun Bhascker Dhaassyam.


Producer-distributor Dil Raju.


Jagapathi Babu won an award for Best Supporting Actor (Telugu) for his work in Nannaku Prematho.

Other actors in this category are Samuthirakani for his Tamil film Visaaranai, Vasishta Simha for his Kannada film Godhi Banna Sadharana Maikattu and Vinayakan for his Malayalam film Kammattipaadam.


Telugu actor Krishna, seen here with wife Vijaya Nirmala, received the Lifetime Achievement Award.


Singer Chinmayi won the Best Playback award for her Malayalam song Oonjali Aadi from the film Action Hero Biju.

She arrives with actor-husband Rahul Ravindran.

Do Read: 'I was lucky that Rahman handed one of his best songs to me'


Music director Vandemataram Srinivas.


Lyricist Ramajogaiah Sastry won the Best Lyrics award for the song Pranamam from the film Janatha Garage.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox: