» Cricket » Kiwi women score last-ball win

Kiwi women score last-ball win

Source: PTI
December 16, 2003 22:12 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

New Zealand scored a thrilling last-ball victory over India in the fifth and final 50-over cricket match in Chennai on Tuesday to deny the hosts a clean sweep in the series.

The Kiwis, who restricted India to 186 for 6, scored 187 for 8 in the allotted 50 overs.

A 43-run sixth wicket stand between Maria Fahey and Nicola Browne in 10.1 overs, and an unfinished ninth-wicket stand of 18 runs between Anna Corbin and Rebecca Steele helped the Kiwis register a consolation win.

The winning shot was struck by Corbin, who lofted Deepa Kulkarni to mid-off, where debutant Mamta Kanojia misjudged the catch and pushed the ball to the ropes.

Sloppy fielding, which has been the bane of the Indians all through the series, as indicated by captain Mamatha Maben before the match, cost them the game.

The target was reduced by hard-hitting Browne and Corbin, who plundered 13 runs in the 46th over by Kanojia.

Tension prevailed in both camps, as the Kiwis needed 13 runs off the last over bowled by seasoned left-arm spinner Deepa Kulkarni.

Rebecca Steele collected four runs from three balls and Corbin five from two, taking the match to the wire.

The match was well within the reach of the hosts, but Corbin's last ball gamble paid off.


Anju Jain c Maia Lewis b Anna Corbin 51
Jaya Sharma b Kate Pulford 59
Mithali Raj c Maria Fahey b Anna Corbin 30
Hemalatha Kala c Louise Milliken b Anna Corbin 5
Mamatha Maben not out 9
Arundhati Kirkire b Louise Milliken 9
Deepa Kulkarni not out 0

Extras: (lb-7, nb-1, w-15) 23

Total: (for 5 wkts in 50 overs) 186

Fall of wickets: 1-144, 2-156, 3-162, 4/166, 5/186

Bowling: Rebecca Steele 10-1-32-0, Louise Milliken 10-2-23-1, Anna Corbin 10-0-39-3, Aimee Mason 10-1-35-0, Nicola Browne 3-0-19-0, Kate Pulford 7-0-31-1.

New Zealand:
Michelle Lynch b Jhulan Goswami 8
Maria Fahey c Mithali Raj b Nooshin-Al-Khadeer  66
Kate Pulford b Jhulan Goswami 0
Haidee Tiffen b Deepa Kulkarni 5
Maia Lewis c Mamata Maben b Deepa Kulkarni 4
Aimee Mason b Deepa Kulkarni 2
Sara McGlashan c and b Deepa Kulkarni 7
Nicola Browne b Jhulan Goswami 53
Anna Corbin not out 18
Rebecca Steele not out 8

Extras: (lb-2, w-14) 16

Total: (for 8 wkts, 50 overs) 187

Fall of wickets: 1-26, 2-26, 3-49, 4-54, 5-59, 6-110, 7-135, 8-169

Bowling: Jhulan Goswami 10-1-28-3, Beas Sarkar 10-0-34-0, Nooshin 10-1-24-1; Deepa Kulkarni 10-2-34-4, M Kanojia 6-0-42-0, Hemalatha Kala 4-0-23-0.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Tokyo Olympics

. Tokyo Olympics
. India's tour of England