NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Vijay Hazare Trophy round-up: Karnataka win thriller; Delhi beat Kerala

Vijay Hazare Trophy round-up: Karnataka win thriller; Delhi beat Kerala

March 04, 2017 20:58 IST

A round-up of Vijay Hazare Trophy matches played across the country on Saturday

Ganesh Sathish stars in Vidarbha's 68-run win over Haryana

Dinesh Karthik

IMAGE: Tamil Nadu’s Dinesh Karthik in action during the Vijaya Hazare Trophy match against Kerala. Photograph: PTI

Ganesh Sathish scored a patient 78 while Apoorv Wankhede smashed 45-ball 64 as Vidarbha beat Haryana by 68 runs in a Group A League match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy, in New Delhi.

Batting first, Vidarbha scored 237 for 9 in 50 overs and then bowled Haryana out for 169 in 42.3 overs.

Vidarbha's spin duo of left-armer Akshay Karnewar (4/29) and off-spinner Akshay Wakhare (3/38) took bulk of the spoils.

Vidarbha are now on 16 points from five games and have a real good chance of qualifying for the knock-outs.

Summarised Scores of other Group A matches

At Kotla: Vidarbha 237/9 in 50 overs (Ganesh Sathish 78, Apoorv Wankhede 64). Haryana 169 in 42.3 overs (Akshay Karnewar 4/29, Akshay Wakhare 3/38). Vidarbha won by 68 runs.

At Karnail Singh Stadium: Baroda 233/6 in 50 overs (Krunal Pandya 72, Pritam Das 3/37). Assam 141 in 42.3 overs (Krunal Pandya 4/20). Baroda won by 92 runs.

At Palam: Odisha 228/8 (Sandeep Pattanaik 85, Biplab Samantray 33, Amit Mishra 2/31).

Railways 231/4 in 49 overs (Mahesh Rawat 88, Arindam Ghosh 45). Railways win by 6 wickets.

Unmukt scores 64 on comeback as Delhi beat Kerala

Opener Unmukt Chand scored 64 in Delhi's successful run-chase against Kerala in an inconsequential Vijay Hazare Trophy encounter, in Bhubaneswar.

Chasing a victory target of 232, Delhi knocked off the runs in 44.1 overs notching up their second win in fifth game.

It was a good comeback game for Unmukt, who was dumped from the squad initially only to be brought back after Delhi's campaign ended.

He wasn't exactly fluent but batted responsibly enough as he played 85 balls hitting five boundaries and a six in the process. Skipper Rishabh Pant hit 35 off 26 balls with two fours and three huge sixes. Milind Kumar hit 40 off 37 balls with six boundaries and a six.

It was Manan Sharma, who ended the match with a huge six off Vinod Kumar's bowling.

Earlier, another comeback man Pawan Suyal, replacement for an out of form Pawan Negi grabbed two for 46 while Navdeep Saini took 2 for 49.

Summarised Scores of other Group B matches

At Tangi: Kerala 231/8 in 50 overs (Sanju Samson 41, Salman Nizar 59, Pawan Suyal 2/46).

Delhi 237/6 in 44.1 overs (Unmukt Chand 64, Milind Kumar 40, Roshabh Pant 35). Delhi won by 4 wickets

At Bhubaneswar: HP 255 in 49.1 overs (Ekant Sen 58, Ankit Kaushik 72, Mohd Israr 4/33, Praveen Kumar 2/40)

UP 259/4 in 40.4 overs (Akshdeep Nath 109, Shivam Chaudhary 75). UP won by 6 wickets.

At Barabati: Tripura 188/9 (Gurinder Singh 91, Nikt Dhumal 4/19). Maharashtra 193/6 in 34.1 overs (Kedar Jadhav 48, Nikhil Naik 46). Maharashtra won by 4 wickets.

Bengal post 14-run win over MP

Sudip Chatterjee's 91-run knock and a half-century by skipper Manoj Tiwary enabled Bengal eke out a 14-run win over Madhya Pradesh in a Vijay Hazare Trophy Group C one-day match in Chennai.

Bengal scored 270 for eight and then restricted Madhya Pradesh to 256 in 49 overs, despite a fine century from Harpreet Singh.

Opting to bat, Bengal lost two early wickets before Chatterjee and Tiwary put on a crucial 127-run stand for the third wicket.

Chatterjee's innings came off 101 balls and was studded with eight boundaries and two sixes, while Tiwary scored a 73-ball 59 with the help of three fours.

Chasing 271 for victory, Madhya Pradesh managed to put on a couple of 50-plus partnerships but eventually fell short.

Harpreet hit 109 off 134 deliveries that included nine boundaries and a six. He also put on a 55-run stand for the third wicket with Shubham Sharma (17) and another 69-run partnership with Sohraab Dhaliwal (37) for the fifth wicket.

Brief scores:

Bengal: 270 for 8 in 50 overs (Sudip Chatterjee 91, Manoj Tiwary 59; Venkatesh Iyer 2/38).

Madhya Pradesh: 256 all out in 49.0 overs (Harpreet Singh 109; Sayan Ghosh 3/43).

Summarised scores of other Group C matches:

Mumbai beat Andhra by 43 runs

Mumbai: 231 for 8 in 50 overs (Aditya Tare 77, Siddhesh Lad 55; P Girinath Reddy 3/53).

Andhra: 188 all out in 38.1 overs (KS Bharat 64; Shivam Dubey 3/21).

Rajasthan beat Goa by 7 wickets

Goa: 211 for 8 in 50.0 overs (PC Gawas 66; Nathu Singh 2/31).

Rajasthan: 214 for 3 in 40.2 overs (Mahipal Lomror 73, Salman Khan 61 not out).

Karnataka beat Hyderabad to seal QF berth

Karnataka rode on R Vinay Kumar's unbeaten knock under pressure to secure a thrilling one-run win over Hyderabad and seal a quarterfinal berth in the Vijay Hazare Trophy ODI one-day cricket tournament, in Kolkata.

Old warhorse Vinay Kumar used all his experience and remained unbeaten on 35 to guide Karnataka to victory after they were tottering for 81 for nine while chasing a paltry 109 run target at the Eden Gardens.

On a day when their premier batsmen showed lack of patience and got out playing rash shots, number nine, Vinay Kumar, playing his first match of the meet after recovering from an injury, held on to his nerve and played a patient 56-ball knock to take Karnataka to last eight round with five wins from as many matches.

Karnataka were 28 shy of the target when Vinay Kumar was joined by number 11 batsman Prasidh Krishna.

Earlier, off-spinner K Gowtham grabbed a career-best 5 for 28 to bundle out for 108 in 44 overs.

In reply, Karnataka were nine for two by the fifth over with Chama Milind striking in his first over with the left-arm seamer claiming two wickets in two balls castling Gowtham (16) and Manish Pandey (0) to reduce them to 39 for four.

Summarised Scores  of other Group Dmatche

At Eden Gardens: Hyderabad 108 in 44 overs (K Gowtham 5/28) lost to Karnataka 109/9 in 29.2 overs (R Vinay Kumar 35 not out; Mohammed Siraj 3/24, Chama Milind 3/42, Ravi Kiran 2/32) by one wicket.

At Bengal Cricket Academy, Kalyani: Jammu and Kashmir 170 in 46 overs (Parvez Rasool 53, Ram Dayal 50; Jaydev Unadkat 3/17, Kushang Patel 3/42, Prerak Mankad 2/32, Shaurya Sanandia 2/33) beat Saurashtra 147 in 34.3 overs (Mankad 47; Parvez Rasool 4/39) by 23 runs.

At Jadavpur University second campus, Saltlake: Chhattisgarh 246/7 in 50 overs (Ashutosh Singh 84, Mohammed Kaif 65, Manoj Singh 49; Diwesh Pathania 2/45, Vipin Singh 2/54) beat Services 232 in 49.3 overs (Soumya Swain 92, Suraj Yadav 78; Shubham Agarwal 3/26, Pankaj Rao 3/36) by 14 runs.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.