NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » India elect to bat

India elect to bat

Last updated on: April 12, 2006 10:02 IST


India won the toss and elected to bat in the sixth one-day international against England at the Keenan stadium in Jamshedpur on Wednesday.

India made four changes to the side that played in Kochi, bringing in Y Venugopal Rao, Munaf Patel, R P Singh and V R V Singh in place of Irfan Pathan, Ajit Agarkar, S Sreesanth and Rahul Dravid.

England made three changes. Skipper Andrew Flintoff was rested and Andrew Strauss is leading the sideĀ in his absence.

Sajid Mahamood, Ian Bell and Liam Plunkett were included in place of Flintoff, Gareth Batty and Geriant Jones.

India have taken an unassailable 4-0 lead in the seven-match series. The fifth match in Guwahati was abandoned due to soggy ground conditions following heavy rain.


India: Virender Sehwag (capt), Mohammad Kaif, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Dhoni, Venugopal Rao, Ramesh Powar, Harbhajan Singh, Rudra Pratap Singh, Munaf Patel, Vikram Singh.

England: Andrew Strauss (capt), Matthew Prior, Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood, Vikram Solanki, Ian Bell, Ian Blackwell, Liam Plunkett, Matthew Hoggard, James Anderson, Sajid Mahmood