NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Kerala-UP match on razor's edge

Kerala-UP match on razor's edge

December 27, 2003 21:00 IST

Kerala were 191 runs away from an outright win against Uttar Pradesh, having made 32 for one in their second innings in the Ranji Trophy Elite Group 'A' league match at Palakkad on Saturday.

At close on the third day, C M Deepak was batting on 11 and Vipin Lal on one, after opener Sujith Somasundar was bowled by Gyanender Pandey for 20.

Left arm spinner Sreekumar Nair (3/70) and medium pacer Prashanth Chandran (3/45) combined well to dismiss UP in their second knock for 255.

Earlier, the hosts had clinched a 33-run first innings lead, scoring 247.

With the pitch assisting the spinners, Kerala could have a tough time in negotiating Nikhil Chopra and Aman Verma in their run chase.

Earlier, resuming at 48 for no loss, UP received an early jolt losing opener Jyoti Yadav (19). Suresh Raina, who joined overnight Rohit Prakash, batted fluently, adding 80 runs for the second wicket before Raina (39) edged Prashant Chandran to slip fielder Sunil Oasis.

Rahat Elahi joined Rohit and they took the score past 150 and at lunch UP were 154/2. However, Sreekumar struck soon after, having Rohit leg before wicket for 79 (174 b, 8x4).

Left arm spinner Suresh Kumar dealt a major blow by dismissing Rizwan Shamshad (9) and Pandey (0) in one over to put the visitors in a spot. Thereafter, wickets fell regularly, with Sreekumar and Prashant Chandran doing the damage. Elahi remained unbeaten on 74 (8x4).


UP Ist innings: 214

Kerala Ist innings: 247

UP 2nd innings:
 R Prakash lbw b Nair                                      79
 Jyoti Yadav c Hemanth b A'padmanabhan       19
 S Raina c Oasis b Prashanth                            39
 R Elahi not out                                                74
 R Shamshad c Sujith b Sureshkumar                  9
 G Pandey c Vipin Lal b Sureshkumar                 0
 P Malvia c Hemanth b Nair                                4
 N Chopra c Deepak b Prashanth                       1
 Ratnesh Misra c Deepak b Prashanth                 1
 A W Zaidi c Oasis b Nair                                  7
 Aman Verma run out                                         4

Extras (b-6, lb-5, nb-7)              18

Total (all out in 96.3 overs)        255

Fall of wickets: 1/53, 2/133, 3/181, 4/212, 5/212, 6/222, 7/229, 8/233, 9/246.

Bowling: Prashanth Chandran 15-3-45-3; Sony Cheruvathur 1-0-6-0; Sreekumar Nair 39.3-15-70-3; Suresh Kumar 15-4-43-2; Ananthapadmanabhan 21-2-68-1; Sunil Oasis 5-0-12-0.

Kerala 2nd innings:
 C M Deepak not out              11
 S Somasundar b Pandey         20
 Vipin Lal not out                      1

Total (for 1 wkt, 10 overs)  32

Fall of wicket: 1/29.

Bowling: Zaidi 3-0-10-0; Ratnesh Misra 1-0-4-0; Nikhil Chopra 4-3-11-0; Gyanendra Pandey 2-0-7-1.


© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.