» Cricket » Orissa dismiss Services for 268

Orissa dismiss Services for 268

December 27, 2003 21:28 IST

Orissa bowlers claimed four quick wickets on the third day to dismiss Services for 268 in their first innings even though bad weather continued to dominate the proceedings in the Ranji Trophy Plate division Group 'B' match at New Delhi on Saturday.

Services, who started the day at 242 for six, lost their last four wickets for 26 runs with Debashish Mohanty returning with figures of four for 64.

In reply, Orissa were four for one when bad light stopped play. Just a little more than two hours play was possible on the third day during which only 20 overs could be bowled.

Earlier, C D Thomson failed to add anything to his overnight score of 53 as he was castled by Mohanty in the fifth over of the day.

Other not out batsman A K Mohanty (40) was also scalped by the Orissa seamer, who later accounted for Sudhakar Ghagh (11) to take his innings haul to four.

Srikant Jena dismissed R Mohammed (0) to finish with three for 55.

Orissa got off to a shaky start as Subrata Behera (0) was bowled by Mohammed when the score was only four.

At stumps, Test discard Shiv Sundar Das was batting on three while Rashmi Ranjan Parida was yet to open his account.


Services (First Innings):
 PMS Reddy lbw b Mohanty             2
 A Singh lbw b Satpathy                  26
 K Chauda lbw b Mangraj               36
 J Singh c Sukhwinder b Jena           34
 S Verma c & b Raul                        35
 Jasbeer Singh c Mohanty b Jena       3
 C D Thomson b Mohanty              53
 A Mohanty lbw Mohanty               40
 S Ghagh b Mohanty                      11
 Arun Sharma not out                       9
R Mohammed c Raul b Jena            0

Extras (b-8, lb-6, nb-3, w-2)      19

Total (all out, 129 overs)             268

Fall of Wickets: 1/2, 2/65, 3/69, 4/110, 5/118, 6/174, 7/243, 8/252, 9-261.

Bowling: D Mohanty 34-11-64-4, Deepak Mangraj 28-10-52-1, S Jena 30-9-55-3, S Satpathy 18-3-47-1, P Mullick 10-4-18-0, S Raul 9-3-18-1.

Orissa 1st innings:
 S S Das not out                             3
 Subrata Behera b Mohammed       0
 R R Parida not out                         0

Extras (lb-1)                1

Total (for 1 wkt, 5 overs)   4

Fall of wicket: 1-4.

Bowling: Ghagh 3-2-2-0, Mohammed 2-1-1-1.

Saurashtra fightback against Goa

Saurashtra hit back in the second innings scoring 108 for one after Goa were all out in their first innings for 434 taking a vital first innings lead of 214 on the penultimate day of the Plate `B' Ranji Trophy match at Margao on Saturday.

Earlier, resuming at their overnight score of 290 for 3, Goa added another 144 to be all out for 434 with overnight not out batsmen Vivek Kolambkar and Mandar Phadke, who scored a century each, falling in quick succession.

Later, Amit Dani contributed valuable 80 runs.

For Saurashtra, Sitanshu Kotak was the most successful bowler claiming three wickets while Kanhaiya Vaghela, Rakesh Dhruv and Pintoo Gosai took two wickets each.

In reply, Saurashtra fought back making 108 for one in 40 overs and still require 106 runs to wipe out the deficit with nine wickets in hands.

At the draw of stumps, Vaghela (56) and Kotak (4) were at the crease.


Saurashtra Ist Innings: 220

Goa Ist Innings (Overnight 290 for 3):
 Vivek Kolambkar c Ashok b Pintoo         120
 Swapnil Asnodkar c Ashok b Maniyar        13
 Advait Katkar c Ashok b Kotak                 42
 Robin D'Souza lbw Kotak                         10
 Mandar Phadke c and b Vaghela             132
 Shadab Jakati c Ashok b Pintoo                10
 Amit Dani c Rakesh b Vaghela                  80
 Rahul Borkar lbw Rakesh Dhruv               15
 Nitin Kalekar b Dhruv                                0
 Avinash Aware c Ashok b Kotak               0
 Anil Naik not out                                        0

Extras: (lb 4, b 3, nb 4, w 1)          12

Total: (All out in 141 overs)          434

Fall of wickets: 1-26, 2-105, 3-119, 4-314, 5-330, 6-336, 7-381, 8-381, 9-434.

Bowling: Pintoo Gosai 26-9-56-2, Sandip Maniyar 25-3-83-1, Kanhaiya Vaghela 11-4-25-2, Rakesh Dhruv 18-2-55-2, Nayan Doshi 22-5-87-0, Neeraj Odedara 16-3-40-0, Sitanshu Kotak 14-2-55-3, Jaidev Shah 9-2-26-0.

Saurashtra IInd innings:
 K Vaghela not out                         56
 A Kamalia c Borkar b Jakati         47
 S Kotak not out                              4

Extras: (nb 1)                       1

Total: (For 1 wicket in 40 overs)  108

Bowling: A Aware 8-3-26-0, A Dani 4-0-24-0, S Jakati 15-5-28-1, A Naik 2-0-12-0, N Kalekar 11-2-18-0.

Bihar strengthen grip over Tripura

Bihar strengthened their grip over Tripura on the third day of the four-day Ranji Trophy Plate division Group 'B' match. Bihar established a first innings lead of 169 runs and also captured four second innings wickets of the rivals at the Keenan Stadium, Jamshedpur on Saturday.

Taking over from Bihar's overnight score of 211 for seven, night watchmen Rajiv Kumar (70 not out) and Shahid Khan (one not out) began cautiously to put their team to an unassailable position.

Kumar struck a brilliant century and remained unconquered on 155 while Khan (26) contributed an useful partnership with number eleven batsman S S Rao (20) which helped their side post a healthy score of 356 all out.

Former India spinner Ashish Kapoor was the most successful bowler for Tripura by claiming four wickets for 105 runs in 38 overs. S Mahesh and Sonu Sharma took two Bihar wickets each while one was run out and the remaining was claimed by Arindam Sarkar.

Tripura's second innings began on an unhappy note as opener Tritha Ray's sudden departure opened up the flood gates, and by stumps Tripura were tottering at 99 for four with four top batsman back in the pavilion and a deficit of 70 runs still staring at them.

Shahid Khan, who had captured three first innings Tripura wickets, was again their main tormentor as he claimed two more wicket in the second innings for 25 runs in his 12 overs.

However, what gave Tripura a ray of hope was the doggedness shown so far by their not out batsmen Chetan Sachdev and Sandeep Dahad who looked solid for their respective scores of 23 and 13.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.