NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Indian eves lose to New Zealand

Indian eves lose to New Zealand

March 01, 2007 20:39 IST

India was left in a do-or-die situation after going down by 91 runs to New Zealand in the four-nation women's limited-overs tournament in Chennai on Thursday.

Chasing New Zealand's challenging 272 for 7, India were restricted to 181 for 8 and conceded the maximum five points in the fifth round match.

Meanwhile, Austraila, having lost their first two matches, continued their fine recovery in the tournament and notched up a confident six-wicket victory over England, who have lost all the five matches they played.

New Zealand maintained a clean slate for 17 points from five matches, while Australia tallied 14 as against India's 13 points from as many matches.

India now have to win their sixth and final league match against Australia to progress to the knock-out stage.

Opting to field, Australia saw England put up a spirited 268 for 8, with opener Sarah Taylor coming up with a superb 101.

But the world champions made light of the competitive target to romp home in 46.4 overs.

The Aussies owed their victory to Lisa Sthalekar (77, 8x4, 1x6), who figured in two vital partnerships -- a 71-run stand with captain Karen Rolton (55) and another 75 off 60 balls for the fourth wicket with Kate Blackwell (40 not out).

All-rounder Shelly Nitchske, who claimed 2 for 74 in ten overs and scored 21 valuable runs, was declared Player of the Match.

India's decision to put the visitors bat first proved costly, as opener Suzie Bates, who top-scored with a fluent 122 (134b-12x4), put on two useful partnerships -- of 102 for the second wicket with her captain Haidee Tiffen (34) and 104 off 102 balls for the third wicket with Rabecca Rolls (58).

For India, left-arm spinner Priti Dimri (2 for 57) and medium pacer Jhulan Goswami (2 for 43) were the main wicket takers.

In reply, India had a positive start, with openers Karuna Jain and Jaya Sharma playing well, but the former was run-out in unfortunate circumstances by Haidee Tiffen.

Jain scored 13 and India were 55 for one.

After the fall of Jaya Sharma (29) and Mithali Raj (31), India lost wickets at regular intervals and were 138 for 8 in 42 overs before Goswami (27) and Nooshin al Khadeep (19) played through the remaining eight overs adding 43 runs for an unbroken ninth wicket stand.



New Zealand vs India

New Zealand
Maria Fahey c Hemlata Kala b Rumeli Dhar 4
Suzie Bates b Priti Dimri 122
Haidee Tiffen c Jhulan Goswami b Nossin Al Khader 34
Rebecca Rolls st Karuna Jain b Priti Dimri 58
Sara Mcglashan not out 24
Aimee Mason c Karuna Jain b Jhulan Goswamy 3
Rowan Milburn run out 7
Nicola Browne b Jhulan Goswamy 0
Helen Watson not out 1
Extras: (B-3, Lb-3,W-13) 19
Total: (for 7 wkts in 50 overs) 272

Fall of wickets: 1-10, 2-122, 3-216, 4-232, 5-235, 6-269, 7-269.

Bowling: Jhulan Goswami 10-2-43-2, Rumeli Dhar 10-1-28-1, Amita Sharma 3-0-24-0, Priti Dimri 10-0-57-2, Nooshin Al Khadeer 10-0-61-1, M.D. Thirushkamini 6-0-41-0, Hemlata Kala 1-0-12-0.

Karuna Jain run out 13
Jaya Sharma lbw b Haidee Tiffen 29
Mithali Raj c Rebecca Rolls b Aimee Mason 31
Hemlata Kala b Aimee Mason 7
Rumeli Dhar c Aimee Mason b Sarah Burke 11
M D Tirushkamini b Aimee Mason 11
Sunetra Paranjpe c Rebecca Rolls b Nicola Browne 4
Amita Sharma lbw b Sarah Burke 0
Julan Goswami not out 27
Nooshin Al Khadeer not out 19
Extras: (B-4, LB-1, W-23, NB-1) 29
Total: (for 8 wkts in 50 overs) 181

Fall of wickets: 1-52, 2-55, 3-84, 4-108, 5-119, 6-126, 7-127, 8-138

Bowling: Lousie Milliken 8-0-47-0, Helen Watson 10-3-17-0, Nicola Browne 9-1-27-2, Aimee Mason 10-1-36-3, Haidee Tiffen 3-0-20-0, Sarah Burke 8-2-18-2, Suzie Bates 2-0-11-0.


Australia vs England

Sarah Taylor c Blackwell b Pike 101
Laura Neton b Pike 13
Claire Taylor c Blackwell b Fitzpatrick 54
Carlotte Edwars lbw b Sthalekar 10
Jenny Gunn lbw b Nitschke 19
Lydia Greenway c Burlow b Nitschke 16
Beth Morgam b Fitzpatrick 23
Lynsey Askew run out 10
Jane Smit not out 4
Isa Guha not out 0
Extras: (LB-8, W-6, NB-4) 18
Total: (for 8 wkts in 50 overs) 268

Fall of wickets: 1-38, 2-157, 3-181, 4-201, 5-227, 6-246, 7-258, 8-267.

Bowling: Cathryn Fitzpatrick 10-3-43-2, Sarah Andrews 8-0-37-0, Clea Smith 4-1-27-0, Kirsten Pike 8-0-35-2, Shelly Nitschke 10-0-74-2, Lisa Sthalekar 10-1-44-1.

Melissa Burlow b Guha 52
Shelly Nitschke b Morgan 21
Karen Roton c and b Colvin 35
Lisa Sthalekar c Greenway b Colvin 77
Kate Blackwell not out 40
Cathryn Fitzpatric not out 35
Extras: (LB-2, W-7) 9
Total: (for 4 wkts in 46.4 over) 269

Fall of wickets: 1-80, 2-80, 3-151, 4-226

Bowling: Jenny Gunn 7-9-43-0, Lynsey Askew 7-0-41-0, Isa Guha 7-2-36-1, Beth Morgan 6-0-36-1, Laura Newton 10-0-56-0, Holly Colvin 9-0-45-2, Charlotte Edwards 0.4-0-10-0.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.