» Cricket » Pakistan drop Saqlain, Mushtaq

Pakistan drop Saqlain, Mushtaq

November 06, 2003 18:15 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Pakistan have sidelined five senior players, including spinners Saqlain Mushtaq and Mushtaq Ahmed and wicketkeepers Rashid Latif and Moin Khan, for the one-day home series against New Zealand later this month.

Middle-order batsman Younis Khan was also left out from a 22-man provisional pool of players announced on Thursday for the five-match series.

Leg spinner Mushtaq played in the 1-0 Test series win over South Africa last month. Off spinner Saqlain played in the one-dayers but was not selected for the Tests and was later reprimanded for criticising coach Javed Miandad over his omission.

Chief selector Aamer Sohail told Reuters that young wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal had been selected "to groom a keeper for the future. Rashid and Moin are proven performers".

Former Pakistan captain Latif pulled out of the Test series against South Africa, citing personal commitments and opening the way for Moin's recall after 30 months out of the team.

The selectors recalled 27-year-old opener Saleem Elahi, who was dropped in a major clearout after the World Cup.

Strike bowler Shoaib Akhtar, who will miss the first two matches against New Zealand after being banned for swearing while playing against South Africa, has been included in the group.

The one-dayers start at Faisalabad on November 22.


Imran Farhat, Salman Butt, Saleem Elahi, Taufeeq Umar, Yasir Hameed, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Yousuf Youhana, Asim Kamal, Misbah-ul-Haq, Bilal Asad, Abdul Razzaq, Azhar Mahmood, Shoaib Malik, Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami, Umar Gul, Shabbir Ahmed, Abdul Rauf, Mohammad Irshad, Fahad Masood, Kamran Akmal, Danish Kaneria.


Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: source
© Copyright 2021 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

Indian Premier League - 2021

Indian Premier League - 2021