» Cricket » Indian eves shock Australia in World Cup

Indian eves shock Australia in World Cup

Source: PTI
March 14, 2009 13:45 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

An inspired India stunned world champions Australia by 16 runs to start their Super Six campaign in style at the ICC Women's World Cup cricket tournament in Sydney on Saturday.

Australian skipper Karen Rolton's decision to field first backfired as Indian openers Anagha Deshpande (45) and Anjum Chopra (76) gave a steady start to the visitors' innings.

A late onslaught by Amita Sharma (31) and Harmanpreet Kaur helped the Indians accumulate 73 runs in the last seven overs and take the total to a respectable 234 for five in the allotted 50 overs.

Although Australia started their run chase on a confident note, the Jhulan Goswami-led Indian attack restricted the hosts to 219 for seven in their 50 overs. For the Aussies, this was their second defeat in the tournament.

The result leaves Australia on two points with a couple of Super Six matches still left and they must ensure victories in all the remaining matches besides hoping that other teams falter.

Indian batter who had been out of touch so far in the tournament, struck form today with Deshpande and Chopra putting on 69 runs for the opening wicket.

India-born Aussie Lisa Sthalekar ended the partnership, picking up Deshpande who was caught by Lauren Ebsary in the deep mid-wicket in the 21st over.

The Indians lost their second wicket soon after in the form of Thirush Kamini (2) in the 28th over. The in-form Mithali Raj (44) walked in and combined with Chopra to add 56 runs for the second wicket and lay the foundation for the onslaught.

The Indian innings accelerated after the dismissal of Chopra and Raj with Amita Sharma striking three boundaries in a 31-run cameo which came off 22 balls.

Sthalekar was the pick of the Aussie bowlers, picking up three wickets for 52 runs.

Australia, however, done in by a poor start and were in severe trouble after losing their top three batters by the 15th over.

Shelley Nitschke was the first to go after being bowled by a superb Jhulan Goswami delivery that clipped the top of her off stump and Australia's were compounded further after Rolton and Sthalekar departed.

The hosts were tottering at 3 for 53 when Sthalekar was caught behind off Gouher Sultana.

Alex Blackwell (54) made a desperate effort to keep Australia in the hunt, but her efforts went in vain as the required run-rate kept soaring and ultimately proved too much.

For India, Reena Malhotra and Sultana scalped two wickets each, giving away 32 and 33 runs respectively, while Goswami, Rumeli Dhar and Sharma picked up one wicket apiece.

England lead the standings in the Super Six with a maximum of six points from three matches, while India is second with four points from three games. As per the format of the tournament, there are no semi-finals with the top two teams in the Super Six clashing in the final.


India Women:
Anagha Deshpande c Ebsary b Sthalekar 45
Anjum Chopra c Nitschke b Farrell 76
Thirush Kamini c Sthalekar b Nitschke 2
Mithali Raj c Fields b Sthalekar 44
Amita Sharma not out 31
Jhulan Goswami c Nitschke b Sthalekar 5
Harmanpreet Kaur not out 19

Extras (W-12) 12

Total (5 wickets; 50 overs) 234

Fall of wickets: 1-69, 2-99, 3-155, 4-181, 5-201

Bowling: Sampson 8-2-46-0, Farrell 10-3-30-1, Perry 9-0-56-0, Kimmince 7-0-31-0, Sthalekar 10-0-52-3, Nitschke 6-1-19-1.

Australia Women:
S Nitschke b Goswami 17
A Blackwell c Raj b Malhotra 54
Karen Rolton st Deshpande b Sultana 8
Lisa Sthalekar c Deshpande b Sharma 0
J Fields c Kaur b Malhotra 43
J Cameron c Roy b Dhar 25
E Perry b Sultana 0
L Ebsary not out 39
R Farrell not out 20

Extras (LB-4, W-8) 12

Total (7 wickets; 50 overs) 218

Fall of wickets: 1-41, 2-50, 3-53, 4-121, 5-139, 6-140, 7-170

Bowling: Goswami 10-4-34-1, Dhar 10-0-41-1, Sultana 10-2-33-2, Sharma 10-0-57-1, Roy 4-0-17-0, Malhotra 6-0-32-2.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

World Test Championship - 2021

World Test Championship - 2021